Prokofiev: a Portrait has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Prokofiev: a Portrait

Price: CDN$ 25.42 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 13.72

Product Details

  • Performer: Various
  • Composer: Various
  • Audio CD (Dec 11 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Ned
  • ASIN: B000WZ7FG0
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Dreams, Op.6 - Theodore Kuchar
2. Movement I: Allegro Brioso - Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra
3. Movement I: Invocation To Veles And Ala - Theodore Kuchar
4. Movement 4: Finale: Molto Vivace - Theodore Kuchar
5. Movement 3: March - Andrew Mogrelia
6. Movement I: Andante - Allegro - Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra
7. Movement 2: Scherzo: Vivacissimo - Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra
8. Movement 3: Allegro Agitato - Allegretto - Theodore Kuchar
9. Movement 3: Moderato Quasi Allegretto - Theodore Kuchar
10. Movement 3: Andante - Aurora String Quartet
See all 11 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Movement I: The Birth Of Kije - Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
2. Act I: Dance Of the Knights - Andrew Mogrelia
3. Act I: Love Dance - Andrew Mogrelia
4. Movement 9: The Procession - Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
5. Movement 5: Battle On the Ice - Russian State Symphony Orchestra
6. Movement 3: Precipitato - Bernd Glemser
7. Movement 2: Allegro Marcato - Theodore Kuchar
8. Medley: Movement 5: Cinderella At the Palace/Movement 6: Grand Waltz - Theodore Kuchar
9. Pushkin Waltz In C Sharp Minor, Op.120 No.2 - Theodore Kuchar
10. Movement 4: Vivace - Theodore Kuchar
See all 11 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Among the most popular of twentieth-century composers, Sergey Prokofiev is seen as a great musical giant of the Soviet Union. But after the 1917 Revolution he took his talents to the United States and France. Only later was he lured by the power of Mother

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa1126870) out of 5 stars 1 review
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1048bd0) out of 5 stars An Absolute Must For The First-Time Prokofiev Listener!!! Dec 31 2007
By Louie Bourland - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The Naxos label has done it once again with the latest installment of their "Portrait" series - this time on the life and music of the great 20th century Russian composer Sergei Prokofiev.
The music contained on the 2 CDs provides an outstanding overview of Prokofiev's greatest works. Highlights from his seven symphonies, his first and third piano concertos, the two violin concertos, and the ballets "Romeo and Julliet" and "Cinderella" are all included here alongisde excerpts from "Lieutenant Kije", "The Love of Three Oranges", "Alexander Nevsky" and the immortal children's classic "Peter and The Wolf". The only questionable omission music-wise is the famous chamber piece "Overture on Hebrew Themes".
In addition to the great music, the set also includes a 106-page booklet which includes a lengthy detailed essay on the composer written by Gregory Hart. The essay included here arguably provides more in-depth information on Prokofiev than all the books I have personally read over the years. Several historic photos are interpersed throughout the booklet as well.
For someone who is just discovering the music of Prokofiev, I cannot think of a better recommendation than this "Portrait" collection. Both CDs are filled to their limits with 77-minutes of music on each disc. The essay is almost worth the price of this set alone.
Once again, the Naxos label has struck gold with the excellent "Portrait" of this brilliant musical genius. This is an item that will instantly convert you to being a Prokofiev die-hard.
Highly recommended!!!