Quintet Op 22 1 / Quintet... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Quintet Op 22 1 / Quintet Op 11 1 & 6 Import

Price: CDN$ 21.23 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
2 new from CDN$ 21.23 4 used from CDN$ 41.44

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Dec 4 2014)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Umvd Labels Mod
  • ASIN: B00000E3ZL
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa0daa618) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0d3bdf8) out of 5 stars Delightful Feb. 28 2008
By Graham - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I bought these speculatively and I have been surprised and delighted with both the compositions and the performance. They are gems of the post-baroque galant style. It is unfortunate that J.C. Bach is so overshadowed by his great father - he deserves to be better known in his own right!

Here are the details on the four pieces:

1) Op.22/1 Quintet for Flute, Oboe, Violin, Cello and Harpsichord in D major.

2) Sextet for Oboe, 2 Horns, Violin, Cello and Harpsichord in C major.
Written around 1776. [17:08]

3) Op. 11/6 Quintet for Flute, Oboe, Violin, Viola and Basso Continuo in D major.
Written in 1774. [13:59]

4) Op.11/1 Quintet for Flute, Oboe, Violin, Viola and Basso Continuo in C major.
Written in 1774. [17:24]

Recorded in 1988 by Trevor Pinnock and The English Concert.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0dcc144) out of 5 stars He didn't need his father to be famous! Oct. 16 2012
By Chef de jour - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Sandwiched between, and overshadowed by his famous father (Johann Sebastian Bach) and Haydn and Mozart, this Bach helped bring the high Baroque "gallant" style to a glorious conclusion. These performances by the English Concert capture the light, almost frivolous delicacy of the interplay of oboe, violins, horns and keyboards in a delightful moment of nearly forgotten period excellence. Put this on for dinner or, better yet, sink into your favorite chair with your headphones. You won't be sorry.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0fb3a50) out of 5 stars Wonderful recording and performances of JC Bach chamber Sept. 17 2013
By RLB - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Archiv offers a nice sampling of the Op. 11 and Op. 22 Quintets and adds the Sextet to give a musically filled disc. I've had this disc for a LONG time and just now am getting around to re-evaluating it. The composition style, which will be somewhat overlooked by musical history, save the baroque interrogators, shows a complete comprehension of a unique chamber style, sparkling musical invention, creative instrumental writing and concise composition. The recording is light, clean, clear and precise in spatial placement. The English Concert and the usual Archiv/DG soloists and cohorts fill in where needed.
Firm recommendation.

Look for similar items by category