R. Luke Dubois: Timelaps... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

R. Luke Dubois: Timelapse (Enhanced CD)

Price: CDN$ 20.66 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
17 new from CDN$ 11.61 3 used from CDN$ 11.58

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 1 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: SRI Canada
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. I
2. II
3. III
4. IV
5. Clavier
6. ...Time Goes By (Casablanca)

Product Description

Billboard - Clavier - …Time Goes By (Casablanca)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa6014260) out of 5 stars 1 review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa5e245b8) out of 5 stars Unique--A Technological Classic Dec 28 2009
By Clark H. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
"Timelapse" is a completely unique and pioneering fusion of digital audio technology with music history. To make it, producer R. Luke DuBois invented an audio transformation method called "time-lapse phonography." The average spectral signature of a song is separated from all melodic context and summarized as a steady tone. Aspects of key, timbre, and production values are retained. The first four tracks, which total almost 37 minutes, present the 857 #1 Billboard hits from August 1958 (Ricky Nelson--"Poor Little Fool") through 1999 (Santana--"Smooth") in chronological order. Each tone lasts one second per week the corresponding hit charted at #1. When played on your computer, this "enhanced" audio CD's Quicktime movie identifies each tone in real time (a welcome and informative feature). The remaining two tracks are time-lapse phonographs of Bach's "The Well Tempered Clavier" and the soundtrack from the film "Casablanca."

I emphatically disagree with the reviewer who dismissed "Timelapse" as "not for human ears." This was unfair both to DuBois and to humans in general. Humans are a pretty diverse bunch, and some of us are inspired by novel approaches toward apprehending our culture and/or the brain's relationship to music. Granted, while "Timelapse" is composed from pop music, it is not itself pop music. Therefore it is not intended for mass consumption. However, if you understand the general idea of time-lapse phonography (DuBois summarizes this quite well in the liner notes, although the technically inclined may be left wanting more), and are interested in certain aspects of music history and theory, sound design and music production, or even consciousness/memory and the nature/perception of time, then "Timelapse" is well worth the price of admission.