Requiem has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


Price: CDN$ 14.94 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
20 new from CDN$ 6.30 3 used from CDN$ 6.29

Product Details

  • Performer: Robinson; Price; Bach Choir; Southern Sinfonia; Hill
  • Composer: Rutti Carl
  • Audio CD (Oct. 27 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B002N5KEGU
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #120,629 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Carl Rutti' choral music is 'ensuous and exuberant by turns, combining dazzling rhythms and soaring melodies with distinctively lush harmonies' . Of his Requiem, immense in scale yet often intimate in tone, the composer writes that 'no words are strong

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa648ca98) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa65d1828) out of 5 stars Carl Rutti Requiem Dec 27 2009
By V. Jackson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The Bach Choir, based in London England, is one of the world's leading choruses. Led by Musical Director David Hill, the choir regularly performs throughout England. The choir has a rather extensive recording history and in 2007 commissioned a new work by noted Swiss composer, Carl Rutti. The result is Requiem, a piece for Soprano, Baritone and chorus recorded on the Naxos label.

Along with the Bach Choir, the recording features Southern Sinfonia, Olivia Robinson - Soprano, Edward Price - Baritone and Jane Watts - Organ. The recording is intensely moving from the opening of Introitus to the ending of In Paradisum. The choir is simply superb. Their intonation and interpretation of the music is consistently high throughout the recording. The soloists sing with great beauty and are equal to the task of bringing the texts to life.

The overall tonality of the piece might be a little jarring to the ear at first. However, the beauty and richness of the music, combined with the stellar performances of the orchestra, choir and soloists, will certainly make you want to listen to the cd multiple times.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa65d1cd8) out of 5 stars Carl Rutti Requiem June 28 2011
By Johnny - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The performances of the orchestra, choir and soloists and even the recording by the record label are all top notch. The recording has quite a large dynamic range and it is one of the more moving performances of any Requiem piece. This should be on anyone short list for this gene of music.

Look for similar items by category