Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Sept. 25 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Universal Music Canada
  • ASIN: B000TGC79C
  • Other Editions: LP Record  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #18,272 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Rise
2. Enchanted Life
3. Breathe You In
4. Angel Love
5. Come Through
6. Living Without You
7. I Found You
8. Deep Surprise
9. Send It Out To the Universe
10. Rain
11. Right Now

Product Description

Product Description

Songwriter/performer Samantha James has spent the past three years honing her estimable skills as a modern-day singer/songwriter within the dance/electronic/soul genre. Her sultry style, vocal cadences, and international rhythms are largely influenced by such artists as Sade, Basia, Amel Larrieux, Bebel Gilberto and Morcheeba.

Samantha James follows up her smash hit single that's been blowing up dance floors and mix tapes for some time now with her aptly named debut effort Rise. And rise she does, with a laid-back release that's surprising in its sophistication, depth, and soul. Samantha smartly teams up with veteran producer Sebastian Arocha Morton, who boasts production for heavy hitters such as Sting, Fila Brazilia, and Fischerspooner. Stand-out tracks include the funky and deep "Living Without You," the washed-out soul on "Deep Surprise," and the lush grooves of "Rain." Like label-mate Collette, Samantha shows us that she's as talented as she is beautiful, and this release is a breath of fresh bay breeze air that strikes the perfect balance between electronic and organic. --Anish Acharya

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa0a11878) out of 5 stars 52 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1608d74) out of 5 stars Well Done!!! Oct. 1 2007
By maurice braxton - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Since the release of Blue Six Aquarian Angel album in March. I have been hard pressed to find a complete great album. Finally, I can sit back and play a whole cd all the way through. I knew when I first heard Rise a few years ago that Samantha would make a great record someday. Well it is here and I beg you not to sleep on this one. The sound is very nice. If you like electronic music with vocals then you must check out Samantha. If you never have heard of Blue Six you should check him along with one of my favorite artist Aya.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1d2400c) out of 5 stars Definitely `Rises' Above Expectations Jan. 12 2008
By Donna B - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
While cruising Amazon's music scene, I happened upon this CD and had never heard of Samantha James. I was mildly intrigued so I listened to the 30-second snippets of the first few tracks of "Rise" and thought it had a nice, mellow, yet danceable sound. I decided to purchase it (as I'm always trying out new music) and the more I listen to it, the more I really like it. I've never been heavy into electronic/techno music, but "Rise" is a pleasant fusion of techno, smooth jazz, soul, and light Latin grooves all packaged within a sophisticated mellow sound. Samantha's smooth, yet soulful sound is like vintage Madonna crossed with Tracy Thorn (from EBTG) meets techno Bossa Nova. Although the techno beat can become redundant, it's not as noticeable on this CD. The title track hooks you from the beginning and keeps you listening to such gems as "Breathe You In" and "Angel Love." One of my favorites is the uplifting "Send it Out to the Universe." But truly, there's not a bad cut on the entire CD - it's that listenable. I'd recommend this CD to anyone who enjoys any of the genres I've mentioned above. Samantha James is definitely someone to keep an eye (and an eager listening ear) on.
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0782300) out of 5 stars Smooth vocals.... Great CD! Oct. 21 2007
By R. Coley - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I've liked most of OM's artists such as Aya and Gaelle and Lisa Shaw. However, none of them has a complete album such as this one. All of the songs on this effort are worth listening to! Songs such as "Enchanted Life",
"I found you" and "Rain" are simply worth listening to over and over. This album is very diverse as it has hints of Soul, Electronic and Bossa Nova in it. I appreciated that. As you will appreciate this CD, it's one of the best that I've listened to in a couple of years. Although her voice is very similar to Aya's, you will still appreciate the differences and enjoy both of their efforts!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa139b984) out of 5 stars Outstanding music! Dec 28 2007
By Tim Neitzel - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I've been listening to this album repeatedly ever since I got it last week. It's amazing. This may be classified as electronica, but the vocals are more reminiscent of smooth jazz. Samantha has a way with vocal stylings that set her apart from many of her electronica contemporaries. She sings with feeling, the words have meaning, and, not to forget the other important part: the music. The beats are generally uptempo without being manic and the overall sound is lush, full, and compelling. 'Send It Out To The Universe' is probably my favorite track at this moment, but everything here is high quality. Buy this, you'll be glad you did.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa077c9c0) out of 5 stars the bomb! Jan. 28 2008
By A. Hovell - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Samantha James , Rise, is the best all around CD I've heard in years, and I've been
on this planet 60 plus.
Every song is inspiring and uplifting . I've played it dailyfor the past month since
my purchase, even @ work.
It may be considered electroinca by the industry, but I say it's dance,/gospel, trance
all rolled into one.
I use Rise, Breath You In and Send it Out to the Universe during my morning
meditation/stretch sessions.
I highly recommend it to anyone who wants/desires a lift in their daily life.