Arie Ritrovate has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Arie Ritrovate

Price: CDN$ 18.81 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
24 new from CDN$ 12.69 5 used from CDN$ 21.58

Product Details

  • Performer: Sonia Prina; Accademia Bizantina; Dantone
  • Composer: Vivaldi Antonio
  • Audio CD (March 25 2008)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Nvv
  • ASIN: B0011R8TNQ
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #73,423 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Aria: Sarai qual padre mio
2. Aria: Se vincer non si può [Damira], atto I, scena 8 La verità in cimento RV 739
3. Aria: Mi vuoi tradir lo so [Melindo], atto I, scena 11 La verità in cimento RV 739
4. Recitativo [Scanderbeg e Ormondo], atto II, scena 9 Aria: Con palme ed allori [Scanderbeg], atto II, scena 9
5. Concerto per archi in fa maggiore RV 136: Allegro
6. Andante
7. Minuetto - Allegro
8. Aria: Per lacerarlo [Zidiana], atto III, scena 9 Teuzzone RV 736
9. Aria: Abbia respiro il cor [Tirsi], atto III, scena 9
10. Aria: Perché lacerò il foglio [Eumena], atto II, scena 6
11. Aria: Tu dormi in tante pene [Servilia], atto III, scena 1 Tito Manlio RV 738-A
12. Concerto per violino in si bemole maggiore RV 369: Allegro ma poco
13. Largo
14. Allegro ma poco
15. Recitativo [Ormondo], atto II, scena 10 Aria: S'a voi penso, o luci belle [Ormondo], atto II, scena 10
16. Aria: Vedi le mie catene [Zidiana], atto II, scena 9 Teuzzone RV 736
17. Aria: Porta il sol del tuo sembiante [Ruggiero], atto I, scena 11 Orlando furioso RV Anh 84
18. Aria: Alma mia fra tanti affanni Teuzzone RV 736 (Mantova, carnevale 1719)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9a3196d8) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9ab4e4ec) out of 5 stars Generally a nice effort April 9 2008
By G. Rodger - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Sonia Prina has one of those voices that I can't quite decide if I like or not, and her recorded performances are similar. On the whole this recording falls into the I like it category. She is best on the arias from Scanderberg and Teuzzone, especially Con Palme ed allori, although there are times her breath control is lacking and she breaks the phrase. On the whole I enjoy what she brings to these arias musically, although sometimes the drama of the aria suffers as a result--her rendition of Se vincer non si puo from La Verita in Cimento is too safe and restrained, especially given the character singing is supposed to be manipulative and calculating and willing to do almost anything to win.

While I love Prina's crisp articulation of fast passages most of the time there are moments it seems too hard-edged and too much in the throat and it verges on the ugly (and not ugly-beautiful). She also rushes a little at times. But when it's good it is, very, very good. The aria Per lacerarlo from Teuzzone displays all of this in a single 2.5 minutes! Perfection and UGH! in close proximity.

The true gem here is the accompanying ensemble, which is always good, even when Prina lapses. Every moment of the accompaniment was perfection and lives up to the quality I have come to expect from these Naive recordings. I fully expect to listen to this multiple times, even given my reservations about Prina at moments, because at the end of the day even when she bothers me she is compelling and that is all I can ask of a performer.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a6412c4) out of 5 stars A great voice, with an amazing interpretation July 16 2011
By Felipe de Moraes - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Sonia Prina is one of the great voices in our times. Owner of a unmatched vocal coloratura, she gives treatment and interpretation singular in her jobs. Her power of variation in Vivaldian arias are strong, giving a great versatility to the posibilities of interpretation. She can make in "arie da capo" exclusive colors, following sistematically the score in first reading, and giving to us a spettacular "variazzioni" when returns "da capo", being always consistent with the dramaticity of the text and work, of the score and of the techniques, without making use of "pyrotechnics" that surprise but don't transmit what the compositon wanna tell us. The concertos also are great, do not lose anything to the vocal parts. The album repertoire is terrific. Like musicologist, collector and unconditional admirer of Vivaldi, I recommend.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a64118c) out of 5 stars Vivaldi: Arie ritrovate (Vivaldi Edition) Oct. 17 2011
By Bjorn Viberg - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Vivaldi: Arie ritrovate (Vivaldi Edition) is a 2007 Naive recording contralto Sonia Prina. Ottavio Dantone leads the Accademia Bizantina and we also hear violinist Stefano Montanari. Frederic Delemea has written a very well-written and informative essay entitled "Frescoes and miniatures". Also included are short biographies of the performers, the soloist and the conductor. Being a huge fan of Baroque music and Vivaldi this was truly a magnificent listening experience. Highly recommended indeed. 5/5.