Robert Parsons: Sacred Mu... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Robert Parsons: Sacred Music Import

Price: CDN$ 27.41 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
22 new from CDN$ 16.54 1 used from CDN$ 24.74

Product Details

  • Composer: ROBERT PARSONS
  • Audio CD (Oct. 11 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion
  • ASIN: B005CCJS86
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Gramophone award-winning ensemble The Cardinall's Musick present an album of music by Renaissance composer Robert Parsons. Very few records remain of the composer's short life and his musical output is often overlooked, perhaps due to the long shadow William Byrd, his successor as a Gentleman of the Chapel Royal. However, Parsons' vocal writing is some of the most opulent of the period. The Cardinall's Musick give sublime performances of some of the composer's most sumptuous choral works, from the remarkably sophisticated Magnificat to the dramatic O bone Jesu. As demonstrated in their previous recordings, their resonant, pure-toned singing is the perfect advocate for such exquisite polyphony.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9be5ec6c) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9be6cfe4) out of 5 stars Hidden treasures from the Tudor age Oct. 17 2011
By Stephen Midgley - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is an absolutely beautiful disc, both for the music and for its performance. Robert Parsons (c.1535-1572) was a Gentleman of the Chapel Royal and an esteemed composer in his day, but he left far less music to posterity and is much less known than his great near-contemporaries Tallis and Byrd. That must surely be at least in part because tragically, at only 36 years of age, he died in a drowning accident in the River Trent at Newark. But, as will soon be clear to anyone who listens to this marvellous CD, the music we do have from him is magnificent.

The opening motet, "Domine quis habitabit?", is simply beautiful - wonderfully pure and lucid music, sung here with absolute mastery. The rest of the programme consists of motets mainly on Latin texts but with a couple in English, with three more substantial works which are true masterpieces - an alternatim Magnificat, glorious in both melody and texture with soaring, sinuous lines that reminded me of Josquin; "Retribue servo tuo", a work of unusually rich and varied textures with two alto and no soprano/treble parts; and another extended piece, "O bone Jesu" - similarly scored, again most beautiful in melody and intensely rich in texture, and with an especially fine climax. Other favourites for me are the superb setting of "Deliver me from mine enemies", and the one Parsons work that is somewhat better known and has been more frequently performed and recorded - the lovely "Ave Maria", with its deeply satisfying final sequence of chords bringing the disc to a close.

The entire programme is well judged and organised, varied in texture, and most beautifully performed by The Cardinall's Musick; in fact I would say that, of the many fine things the group have brought us from that era, this CD is one of their best. The recording quality is first-class, and Andrew Carwood's own booklet notes are extremely interesting and helpful, including some fascinating historical background and further enhanced by the fine cover picture - a deeply perceptive portrait by the Flemish master Hans Eworth of Queen Mary I, reigning monarch when Parsons was a young man. On the evidence of this fabulous disc, Robert Parsons was clearly an absolute master of melody, texture and expression, and his music readily bears comparison with that of the other great Tudor composers. This brilliant and adventurous programme, then, is a great credit to Andrew Carwood and his excellent bunch, and altogether a truly outstanding contribution to the discography of renaissance music.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9be6d240) out of 5 stars Another beauty from The Cardinall's Musick April 27 2012
By Sid Nuncius - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I completely agree with Stephen Midgely's excellent review above. This is a superb disc of very fine music sung by one of the world's great ensembles.

Stephen gives a very good description of the disc and has said much of what I would have said: Parsons wrote some terrific music in his short life and The Cardinall's Musick sing it wonderfully. Tudor polyphony is repertoire in which they really excel and I would put this disc in the same class as their superlative recordings of Fayrfax, Ludford and Byrd - very high praise indeed but thoroughly merited. The singing is beautiful and genuinely engaged with the texts, the recorded sound is superb, the notes excellent and the presentation very attractive.

In short, it's a cracker and very warmly recommended. My advice is to snap it up.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9be6df90) out of 5 stars Outstanding July 26 2012
By Sir Percy Blakeney - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I totally concur with the preceding reviews by Messrs Midgeley and Nuncius.I always expect good things from the Cardinall's Musick but this really impressed me as much as some of their best recordings of Byrd and Tallis. Listening to this you'll start to have an inkling why William Byrd had to wait for Parsons' untimely death before getting a place in the Royal Chapel.

Look for similar items by category