CDN$ 484.25 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by USA_Seller_4_Canada
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by SosaMedia
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Includes disc(s), case, booklet, and back artwork. May show slight wear. Disc(s) are professionally cleaned and may contain only light scratches that do not effect functionality.
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 484.22
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: thebookcommunity_ca
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Roumanian Rhap/Hungarian Rhaps Hybrid SACD

Price: CDN$ 484.25
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by USA_Seller_4_Canada.
2 new from CDN$ 484.22 4 used from CDN$ 59.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 26 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD
  • Label: Philips
  • ASIN: B0007YP0TU
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #311,914 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Roumanian Rhapsody No.1, Op.11
2. Hungarian Rhapsody No.1 In F Minor
3. Hungarian Rhapsody No.2 In D Minor
4. Hungarian Rhapsody No.3 In D Major
5. Hungarian Rhapsody No.4 In D Minor
6. Hungarian Rhapsody No.5 In E Minor 'Heroide Elegiaque'
7. Hungarian Rhapsody No.6 In D Major 'Carnival In Pesth'

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa9740d80) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa8c5f8a0) out of 5 stars Fun Music Wonderfully Recorded Oct. 10 2006
By Doug - Haydn Fan - Published on
It may sound like a broken record, to use the old analogue cliche, but you can almost never go too far wrong on these Mercury reissues. In this case whatever the limitations of the repetoire itself, there is little to fault with the performances. Other excellent CDs of this music would be found under Ormandy (surprise - he's Hungarian!) and Karajan.
All these selections were recorded in 1960 and 1963 in London, and the bloom off this CD makes a mockery of 40 plus years of the so-called latest advances' in recording. The music calls to mind the dark red Hungarian wine, "Bulls Blood" and the heavy sour cream dishes so beloved by the natives. Mix in the ever present love of gypsy music and the gypsy virtuosi and you have a pretty good idea of what sort of colorful and over rich orchestra program you have in store. The cover accurately captures the whirling, dizzing excitement this music attains.
Original instrument fans please note - this music is played on original instruments - original late 19th century ones - and it sounds wonderful!
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa8c6c7a4) out of 5 stars I love the Rhapsodies July 19 2005
By Kathryn Ciesla - Published on
I purchased this CD to help me fill out my collection of classical favorites. It did not disappoint. I am not a musician but the music sounds real good to me.