6 used & new from CDN$ 30.14

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


3.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Available from these sellers.
2 new from CDN$ 134.67 4 used from CDN$ 30.14

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 15 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Imports
  • ASIN: B001SXZ7UG
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #167,247 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Keep A Secret (4:07)
2. Intentions (3:39)
3. Courage (4:22)
4. Time Bomb (3:43)
5. Roller Coater Ride (2:41)
6. High On The Heels (3:22)
7. 1517 (3:54)
8. Gravity (3:48)
9. Promise Less Or Do More
10. Dead End (3:20)
11. Island (6:59)

Product Description

2009 sophomore release from the Berlin-based Indie/Electro band featuring Erland Oye, formerly with Kings Of Convenience. The Whitest Boy Alive started as an Electronic Dance music project in 2003. It has slowly developed into a band without any programmed elements. Of course, one might notice, that most of the songs on Rules have one thing in common: move your body! Less Indie Pop and more Disco, Rules is both a step forward for the band AND a look back at their influences.

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Like the previous album better, but this is still a good one. I like the second half of the songs on here the best.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa725a864) out of 5 stars 14 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa67b3084) out of 5 stars Takes you on a Jazzy rollercoaster ride! April 21 2009
By Nse Ette - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The whitest boy alive" are a German based quartet with singer/guitarist Erlend Øye from the band Kings of Convenience. Their sophomore disc "Rules" is a calm breezy Folk/Pop/Jazz affair, remniscent in places of Øye's alumnus, Michael Franks, or even long forgotten eighties Swiss Pop duo Double.

Much of the album comprises laid back grooves with jamming instrumental breaks, like opening cut "Keep a secret", the groovy "Intentions", the stunning ballad "Rollercoaster ride", and the similar "Gravity". "Dead end" is a bouncy Pop affair.

The other songs are upbeat, funky, Disco-tinged songs, similar to what Jamiroquai does: the piano sprinkled "Courage", "High on the heels", "1517", "Promise less or do more", and "Island" (with a light Latin feel and a lengthy instrumental break).

The songs are so simple, yet grow maddeningly addictive each time you listen to it. Incredibly groovy and hugely enjoyable!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
By metalizonte - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Muy buen disco. Creo que la única forma de obtener un disco como este aca en Chile es por este medio.. o tal vez en una tienda especializada, pero es mucho más sencillo comprarlo en Amazon. Disco recomendable para quienes gustan de rock alternativo suave.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa6c235d0) out of 5 stars Just barely surpasses 'Dreams'. April 11 2012
By TG - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
While 'Dreams' emphasized guitar work, 'Rules' emphasizes keyboard work. There is a lot more keyboard on this album than 'Dreams'. This album has some really great funky beats and breakdowns, and is bluntly, just plain more fun than its predecessor. It combines the honest, simple but powerful style of Dreams, and adds some really great keyboard work and almost disco beats. As a result, you get an attractive album that draws you in and keeps you wanting more.

Some highlight tracks are Keep A Secret, Intentions, Timebomb, and High On The Heels.

Great album and I think that it's even better than Dreams. Which is a hard album to beat!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xb24fdf3c) out of 5 stars this album is a real treat....... April 4 2009
By Quentin R. Self - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I totally disagree with the 2-star review. Rules adds on to the raw sound that Dreams gave us with a nice polished-off disco sound. I loved every second of this album, and I think it transitions well from the sounds of Dreams. Erlend Oye and his crew have done it again. BUY THIS ALBUM.
HASH(0xa6b35b94) out of 5 stars Terrific Oct. 14 2012
By L. Sarazin - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
It's been said in the past, American bands make music to make money and European bands make music because they have something to say.

This is the case here, this European band delivers some of the most infectious melodies and grooves I have heard in many years. I am a huge CD/LP collector and I don't fall for easy music but this is amazing. Somewhere between minimalist euro pop and Steely Dan is where I would pinpoint this band. Their first album was terrific too but in 3 short years they have matured amazingly and turned simple catchy pop into harmonically sophisticated music while keeping things light and spare. Not easy to do. Some of the tune have a great dance music character without going for the obvious or sounding commercial. Song writing is their strength but each musician holds their weight as well. The bass player in particular delivers highly musical lines that are very tasty. The drummer is more refined and technical than one would assume and he powers this quartet with authority. If you consider that all this great music was recorded live with a minimal amount of artificial effects, the result is refreshing and oh so pure sonically.

I hope this band comes up with a third CD, I think they have many more things to say and the speed at which they have matured musically would indicate many interesting music to come.

In a landscape where bands tend to sound like each other and where writing great songs is rare, Whitest Boy Alive is very unique and they excel at both. Buy this CD the pleasure it delivers to its audience is amazing!