V 4: Russian Piano Music ... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

V 4: Russian Piano Music Serie

Price: CDN$ 21.88 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 14.44 1 used from CDN$ 23.77

Product Details

  • Performer: Anthony Goldstone
  • Composer: Lyapunov Sergei
  • Audio CD (July 13 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Dva
  • ASIN: B0039UG86S
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #228,274 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Our series continues with one of the lesser known figures of 20th century Russian music - and some wonderful music which is brilliantly constructed. This is high Romantic music at its very best; a sumptuous Sonata, and several more pieces which can be considered equal to the established repertoire and is truly among the most virtuosic and rich music ever written.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9a5488e8) out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a589d20) out of 5 stars Best Lyapunov klavierstüke currently in print... Jan. 10 2016
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase

A native Liverpudlian, Anthony Goldstone is a extremely competent British musician who’s built up over the years a very distinctive and eminently respectable discography (including many recordings made with his piano-duo partner Caroline Clemmow).

Goldstone is a Schubert authority; he has also exercised his expertise in the work of other eastern European--particularly Russian--composers.

This year 2000 Lyapunov recital was originally issued the same year on the now defunct English Olympia label, here reissued on Divine Art, 2010.

Goldstone’s programme here is very nice in presenting Laypunov’s terrific f-minor Sonata as well as some significant klavierstüke in other orthodox forms (nocturne, mazurka, barcarolle, theme-and-variations). Also included are the delightful Christmas tableaux, les Fêtes de Noël.

Perhaps in keeping with a pointedly masculine vigour of personality, Goldstone’s realizations here are clear, sharp, and marginally brisk in comparison with Schechter’s 1990 readings on Marco Polo, or even Kolly’s 2001 recital on Novalis (both regrettably OOP).

Comprehensive liner-notes by Goldstone himself.


Look for similar items by category