Scandinavian Cantatas has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Scandinavian Cantatas SACD

Price: CDN$ 20.97 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
24 new from CDN$ 16.21 2 used from CDN$ 21.38

Product Details

  • Performer: Theatre of Voices; Hillier
  • Composer: Buxtehude Dietrich
  • Audio CD (Nov. 16 2010)
  • Please Note: Requires SACD-compatible hardware
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: SACD
  • Label: Mpd
  • ASIN: B00442M0QW
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #225,915 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Scandinavian Cantatas

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9b3a9f24) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b5e445c) out of 5 stars Highly Recommended Oct. 24 2011
By Paul Van de Water - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Paul Hillier and his Theater of Voices offer superb performances of seven cantatas -- five in Latin and two with Swedish texts. At least four of these works are not currently available elsewhere and may be first recordings. One of the cantatas (Accedite gentes, BuxWV 1) is probably not by Buxtehude; the Missa Brevis (BuxWV 114) is likely genuine, although its authenticity has been questioned.

The program also includes two of Buxtehude's greatest organ works played magnificently by Danish organist and Buxtehude expert Bine Bryndorf. The recording was made at St. Mary's Church in Helsingor, Denmark (Hamlet's Elsinore), which Buxtehude served early in his career. Notes are provided by the great Buxtehude scholar Kerala Snyder. The SACD sound is stunning.

This disc is highly recommended, both as an introduction to Buxtehude for the novice and as a delightful addition to the collection of any aficionado.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b5e7618) out of 5 stars Attractive and original Buxtehude programme Oct. 9 2013
By Stephen Midgley - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is the second Buxtehude disc I've come across recently from mainly Scandinavian performers. The other, Buxtehude: Goteborg Baroque, is outstanding, and so too is the present one. In spite of the title, only two of the pieces are actually to Swedish texts, the other works being in Latin, together with two organ pieces. The cantatas here are mostly less familiar works but all are very fine, with "Ecce nunc benedicite Domino" (track 4) and "Accedite gentes" (6) being my personal favourites on this CD. The Missa alla brevis (8 and 9) brings a change of style, unusually for the composer in 5-voice 'stile antico' with continuo.

The six singers of the Theatre of Voices are all excellent and form an exceptionally fine-sounding ensemble, and the small period-instrument TOV Band are just as good. They are directed by Paul Hillier with admirable style and commitment. The two organ works, among Buxtehude's very finest - the Prelude in E minor and, especially, the Passacaglia in D minor - receive an excellent, stylish performance from Bine Bryndorf on the organ of the Sct. Mariae Kirke, Helsingør.

There are so many discs of Buxtehude sacred cantatas available that, for the collector to make choices, the key considerations must surely be the selection of works on each CD and the quality of the performances. On both counts, this "Scandinavian Cantatas" disc is an outstanding success. It offers an adventurous programme of lovely music, most beautifully performed and recorded. Booklet notes are both interesting and thorough, and altogether this makes an excellent contribution to the Buxtehude discography. In a review of the other, Göteborg Baroque disc mentioned above, I've also listed a few additional recommendations for CDs of the composer's sacred music.
HASH(0x9b5e7858) out of 5 stars An excellent disc June 1 2016
By Sid Nuncius - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I might have known that Stephen Midgley would get here before me and say what I was going to say. :o) I agree entirely with him and won't repeat it all. I will just say that this is a very good disc of music which deserves to be better known, and Paul Hillier does his customary excellent job of bringing music to life and giving it real meaning and beauty.

My advice is to read Stephen's excellent review and give this disc a try. Warmly recommended.

Look for similar items by category