Scarlet Pimpernel, the has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Scarlet Pimpernel, the Cast Recording

4.6 out of 5 stars 133 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 28.87 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
4 new from CDN$ 28.87 3 used from CDN$ 29.82

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 6 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Cast Recording
  • Label: Atlantic
  • ASIN: B000002JFB
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  Audio Cassette
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 133 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #88,593 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Instrumental: Overture - Orchestra
2. Madame Guillotine - French Mob, The Marquis De St. Cyr
3. Believe - Percy, Marguerite, Company
4. Vivez - Marguerite, Percy, Ladies Digby, Llewllyn, Company
5. Prayer - Percy
6. Into The Fire - Percy, His Man
7. Falcon In The Dive - Chauvelin
8. When I Look At You - Marguerite
9. The Scarlet Pimpernel - Percy, Company
10. Where's The Girl - Chavelin
11. When I Look At You - Percy
12. The Creation Of Man - Percy, Prince Of Wales, Percy's Men
13. Instrumental: Marguerites Dilemma - Orchestra
14. The Riddle - Chauvelin, Marguerite, Percy, Company
15. Instrumental: Entr' Acte - Orchestra
16. They Seek Him Here - Percy, Prince Of Wales, Ladies Llewellyn, Digby, Company
17. Only Love - Marguerite
18. She Was There - Percy
19. Storybook - Leontine, French Ensemble
20. Where's The Girl - Chauvelin
See all 25 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Audio CD

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Frank Wildhorn's "Scarlet Pimpernel" is infamous for its struggles on Broadway; it's a shame, since I would have loved to see it play on and on for years. The story is charming, telling the story of a mysterious nobleman who, along with a band of followers, is committed to saving the lives of innocent aristocrats during the time of the French Revolution. While not doing their daring duty, this man and his friends assume extremely foppish personalities to avoid suspicion of their activities. The music is an absolute delight to listen to, ranging from the bouncy strains of "Into the Fire", "The Creation of Man" and the title tune to the heavier tone of "Madame Guillotine", "Falcon in the Dive" and "The Riddle". I could see the reason behind the later removal of such songs as "Vivez!" (it's not as up to par as some of the others) but why they should choose to remove such a lovely ballad as "Only Love" is beyond me.
Cast in the lead as the Pimpernel (known publicly as Sir Percy Blakeney), Douglas Sills manages to convey both the silly fop and the dashing hero with a mere change of vocal pattern. I did not ever see him in the role, but I can tell why he was popular. He seems to be having the time of his life.
Christine Andreas has a lovely voice as Marguerite, but she seemed to lack warmth in the love songs. However, she totally conveys a feeling of isolation in her powerful rendition of "When I Look At You".
The only other recording I ever heard Terrence Mann on was "Beauty and the Beast". He's got a pretty good voice, though perhaps a tad heavy for the part of Chauvelin. I much prefer the Chauvelin on the "Encore" recording.
I throughly recommend this recording.
Read more ›
2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By A Customer on Jan. 16 2003
Format: Audio CD
I was lucky enough to see a performance of age 12, I was blown away by the whole show. I came home and told my mom she HAD to get me the CD. Years later, I am still listening to it, with the same effect. It even has a place in my CD case with Linkin Park, Hoobastank, and the Beatles. I simply cannot listen to half of this and then put it away!! Great stuff- Percy's solo, Prayer, never fails to make me sit back and forget whatever I'm doing. So much incredible energy is hidden in these songs. Don't miss it!
2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
I bought this CD after falling in love with the concept recording of Jekyll and Hyde. I felt J&H had some of the most beautiful and emotive music in all of musical theater and so I had to hear anything else by Frank Wildhorn. I could not wait to hear The Scarlet Pimpernal.
I am sorry to say that I was terribly let down. I was unimpressed by the first listen. I listened over and over again hoping to be moved by it. Despite these attempts, I kept coming up empty. Empty is the most appropriate expression for it... Simply unremarkable. No big deal. Nothing to it.
To me, the music was very reminiscent of the scores in modern Disney animation. I felt I was listening to The Little Mermaid with the sea-faring nature of one of the tunes. The ballads were just sappy in my opinion. The "big" numbers others have referred to may have been more tolerable, but they did not stand out as beautiful and moving. Even the best of the songs were just okay - not bad, but nothing I would yearn to hear again.
Whereas I am sure Christine Andreas is a lovely woman, her voice really, really turned me off. I could not enjoy any of the songs she sang due to the vibrato in her voice as mentioned by several other reviewers. Her tone and pitch were great, but any sustained note was just uncomfortable for me to listen to. Beyond her voice, I did not feel for any of the characters. I did not sense the drama that should have been present. There was nothing about this CD that made me want to recommend it to anyone.
For Wildhorn's best, check out Jekyll and Hyde (particularly the concept recording - phenomenal). I would not encourage you to spend your money on this recording. Just watch the next animated Disney blockbuster.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
I first listened to this cd about three years ago and was absolutely blown away! It starts out with the Overture which has such marvelous instrumentals that it immediately makes you sit up and listen. Then Madame Guillotine comes on and there are so many magnificent voices! The next song kind of is 'iffy' because if you have never heard Christine Andreas' voice before it kind of shocks you. She has a lot of vibrato but you do get used to it. But! All faith is restored when you hear Terrence Mann sing Falcon In the Dive! I had never before heard a more magnificent voice in my life and I am a music lover. I still never have, a friend of mine keeps trying to convince me that Michael Crawford is better but there is such a difference there that there can be no comparison!
If you like a cd that has wonderful orchestrations and magnificent voices with amazing songs (with the music being quite bombastic at times) you will love this cd. There are fiery songs sung out of hate, or betrayed love; tender songs that speak of a love lost and a love found; as well as inspiring songs that could convince anyone that they could sail the high seas to defeat their foes! I give it the best rating possible and it is definitely my favorite cd. (my house hears it at least 3 times a week and when I play it it plays all day!) Definitely order it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews