Scenes from Tristan and G... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Scenes from Tristan and Gotter

Price: CDN$ 14.89 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
22 new from CDN$ 2.94 6 used from CDN$ 2.93

Product Details

  • Composer: Wagner
  • Audio CD (Aug. 17 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B0002J9TTW
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #378,387 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Einleitung (Introduction)
2. Horst Du Sie Noch?
3. Nicht Hornerschall Tont So Hold
4. Dein Werk? O Tor'ge Magd!
5. Isolde! Tristan! Geliebte(r)!
6. Wie Lange Fern! Wie Fern So Lang!
7. Dem Tage! Dem Tage
8. O Eitler Tagesknecht!
9. In Deiner Hand Den Sussen Tod
10. Doch Es Rachte Sich Der Verscheuchte Tag
11. O Sink Hernieder, Nacht Der Liebe
12. Barg Im Busen Uns Sich Die Sonne
13. Einsam Wachend In Der Nacht
14. Lausch, Geliebter!
15. Unsre Liebe? Tristans Liebe?
16. Doch Unsre Liebe
17. So Sturben Wir, Um Ungetrennt
18. Soll Ich Lauschen?
19. O Ew'ge Nacht, Susse Nacht!
20. Starke Scheite Scheitet Mir Dort - Margaret Jane Wray
See all 26 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa301a5a0) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2d06918) out of 5 stars Leaden conducting detracts from solid singing Nov. 22 2004
By Matteo - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The best way I can find to describe this recording is a good effort that doesn't quite succeed as it should, and much of the problem lies with the conducting.

But first to some positives. The recording features two very earnest and solid singing efforts. Margaret Jane Wray's accounts of Isolde and Brunnhilde are on the whole recommendable. On the whole her work is lovely.

What's intersting is that hers is a lyrical voice, perhaps more at home in Verdi or Strauss than in Wagner. I would love to hear her tackle either of Verdi's Amelias, or Abigaille, or even Aida. Ditto that for Strauss's Arabella or Ariadne.

All of that said, the freshness and comparative lightness of the voice makes her characters rather youthful which is a nice change from the more stentorian Wagner you may be used to. Her musicianship is solid. She is obviously quite accomplished.

John Horton Murray makes for an ardent and earnest Tristan, his entrance into Act II sounds almost as if he were bursting into a Puccini. As with Ms. Wray, that Italianate warmth was refreshing. His somewhat reedy tenor may not be suited to the rigors of Tristan in the opera house, but on disc it's not a problem. I applaud the energy and drive he finds in the character.

Nancy Maultsby is perfectly serviceable as Brangane though not particularly memorable (and to be fair, it's not a glamor role).

Where the recording runs into trouble is with the conducting. John McGlinn struggles to find just the right feel for two of Wagner's signature scores, and he never really finds it. He fares much better in "Tristan and Isolde" where the orchestra is supporting the singers. However, in "Gotterdamerung" with its exposed orchestral passages, the effect is leaden and sluggish. There is an inexplicable tendency to play Wagner's rapturous music with a respectful detachment.

Because of this, the Russian State Symphony Orchestra sounds anemic and underpowered. This lack of thunder undermines the singers, particularly Ms Wray as she makes her way admirably through the Immolation Scene with a strong sense of pitch and a steady, clean vibrato. A more energetic reading of the score may have given Ms. Wray more to work with. In spots she too seems a little underpowered.

I'd recommend these recordings as a second or third choice. They are not terrible by any means, but they are also somewhat disappointing. That said, the singers are commendable and deserve to be heard in better circumstances. I recommend this recording for their efforts.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2d06c48) out of 5 stars Excellent March 29 2007
By Dr Allan Steel - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Singers are quite OK. The tenor has a lightish voice but is clear enough and sings with a nice tone.

Orchestra and sound quality are superb. The separation of first and second violins is brilliant; they are both very clear so you can hear their wonderful distinct parts (there are some amazing things particularly in the first section of the Tristan duet which is hardly heard on other recordings). The woodwind is very clear, with some excellent lower clarinet and cor anglais parts coming out. Again, this work has wonderful writing for all those parts, so great to hear that.

It's also really good to have the concert ending of the Tristan Act 2 section, like the Domingo/Pappano EMI CD, but this includes the whole of Act 2 up to that point, so is unique. So is well worth it just for this.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3d598c4) out of 5 stars Margaret Jane Wray's voice is exquisite! Feb. 11 2008
By Cindy R. Leonard - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This is my first chance to listen to Tristan and Isolde. Margaret Jane Wray added to the beautiful rendition of this opera.