Schubert: String Quartet... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Schubert: String Quartet in G Import

Price: CDN$ 23.05 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
12 new from CDN$ 17.51 7 used from CDN$ 10.56

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Aug. 22 1995)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: MD & G
  • ASIN: B0000021F6
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Allegro Molto Moderato
2. Andante Un Poco Mosso
3. Scherzo. Allegro Moderato/Trio. Allegretto/Scherzo Da Capo
4. Allegro Assai
5. Allegro/Andante Sostenuto (Fragment)
6. Str Trio B Flat D 471: 2. Andante Sostenuto (Fragment)
7. String Quartet Fragment D 2c

Product Description

This ensemble was still the New Leipzig String Quartet when this recording was made because the old Leipzig String Quartet hadn't retired yet. The ensemble was audacious enough to choose Schubert's difficult last String Quartet for Volume 1 of its series, but the attempt is triumphant. This is compelling Schubert playing, immediately expressive and right in your face. The power of the music in this performance is strong enough to keep you riveted through its great length (50 minutes!). The modest, unfinished Trio is done with a completely different approach, suiting its nature very well. The one-minute fragment by the 12-year-old boy composer is a tantalizing encore. Large-hall reverberant sound but very good of its type. --Leslie Gerber

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest SQs of All Time... June 12 2005
By A Customer - Published on
Verified Purchase
Exemplifying what the mad Schumann termed "heavenly length," Schubert's great G major SQ rivals Beethoven's four late quartets, and Schoenberg's First and Fourth SQs.

Within Schubert's oeuvre, the G major SQ groups with the Rosamunde SQ, Death and the Maiden SQ, and the Double 'Cello Quintet. With performance time of approx. 55mins, the mighty G major is assuredly one of the greatest SQs of all time. The sonic textures alternate between dazzingly thick and clotted chords to shimmering translucent filligree. Incredible!