Schubert: Symphonies Nos.... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Schubert: Symphonies Nos. 6 & 8 (Unfinished); Haydn: Piano Concerto in D, HobXVIII/11* [Stereo/*Mono]

Price: CDN$ 27.45 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 14.22 2 used from CDN$ 19.35

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Dec 14 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Testament
  • ASIN: B0002O38US
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Wonderful Wand May 6 2005
By Michael Brad Richman - Published on
While I'm not currently buying Testament titles at the same rate I was a few years back, I simply could not pass up this one featuring the legendary conductor Gunter Wand. (The fact that I found it for $5 in a Boston used CD store might have contributed slightly to my decision.) This CD features Wand performing Schubert's 6th and 8th Symphonies (in stereo from 1962 and 1958 respectively) and Haydn's Piano Concerto in D (with Heinz Schroter in mono from 1956) with his beloved Gurzenich Orchestra of Cologne. Those familiar with my other Wand Testament reviews on Amazon, or those who know Wand's bio, will already know this, but popularity found Wand late in life. One of the reasons may be traced back to a career decision made in the early 1950s. Wand was given the opportunity by Walter Legge to join the great roster of conductors at EMI and make a few recordings, or record a larger body of work with the French subscription music club, Club Francaise du Disque. Wand, always one to put the music first, chose the latter, and as a result we have this beautiful archive of recordings, beginning to be lovingly reissued by Testament. And it is a "testament" to that company's dedication to classical music today that allows us to hear all these gems of the past -- thank you!