Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
17
Scientific Progress Goes Boink: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on May 11, 2017
My brother loves it and likes to read it out loud to us. Calvin is a crazy 6 year old kid who's always up to some sort of trouble and is a constant headache to his parents :) It's quite a fun read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 7, 2016
Great shape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 17, 2004
There is one thing about any Calvin and Hobbes book, they are always funny. They are funnier if you have children. This edition has several classic sequences. In one series Calvin duplicates himself, and mayhem ensues, all blamed, of course, on the duplicates. Naturally Calvin has a unique way of getting out of trouble. Calvin also has a rather entertaining time with his babysitter, who seems forever doomed to being outwitted by Calvin, even if she always wins in the end (and Calvin's parents always lose as they have to bribe her to come back).
Of course there are always the ever-interesting Spaceman Spiff strips, usually involving either Calvin's teacher or his mother. Calvin also appears in a number of strips as a carnivorous dinosaur, the Calvinosaurus. As with any Calvin and Hobbes book, there are the inevitable interactions with Hobbes that extend from fighting and arguing to tender solitary moments.
Because Calvin and Hobbes is a unique series it is difficult to compare to other series or books. All the books I have are all generally of equal quality in terms of the stories. I have a slight preference for the treasury books with their color strips, but Calvin and Hobbes are funny in color or black and white. If you need a good laugh, you'll likely find it here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2001
"Scientific Progress Goes 'Boink'" is a collection of "Calvin and Hobbes" comic strips by Bill Watterson. The strips document the misadventures of Calvin, a small boy, and his stuffed toy tiger, Hobbes (who comes to life in Calvin's vivid imagination). In this volume we see Calvin's alter egos (daring interplanetary adventurer Spaceman Spiff, private eye Tracer Bullet), get a lesson in Calvinball ("No sport is less organized than Calvinball!), witness the rampage of the Calvinosaurus, and attend meetings of the G.R.O.S.S. (Get Rid Of Slimy girlS) club.
Many of the storylines in this book have a strong science fiction element: in Calvin's imagination, his "personal gravity polarity" is reversed; he turns into a giant; etc. But the most fun comes when Calvin decides to clone himself. Much of the humor springs from the discontinuity between Calvin's rich fantasy world and the perspective of his often frustrated parents. Through it all, Hobbes remains a witty and philosophical pal to the mischievous Calvin.
C&H is a comic strip that is both consistently funny and consistently intelligent. The art is great, especially in the fantasy sequences (check out the noirish milieu of Tracer Bullet, for example). Calvin himself is a nonconformist, a terror to authorities of all types, a dreamer and a schemer -- he's one of the all-time great comic strip characters, and "Scientific Progress" is a great showcase for him and Hobbes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 26, 2000
The title of this book refers to the classic sequence of strips in which Calvin first uses his (cardboard box) duplicator to make a copy of himself that he hopes will do all the unpleasant things he has to do (like go to school). However, because the duplicate IS Calvin, he has his own ideas. This is another classic collection in the Calvin and Hobbes series. Bill Watterson is a comic genius whose presence in the funny pages has been sorely missed since his retirement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 3, 1999
I've read almost every C & H book not discounting the fact that I read the strip regularly while it was syndicated. Brilliant, funny, touching and many times loving. In addition, my son learned to read starting at the age of 6 thru C & H. Now that he's 10 he still rereads the books. He's getting a little old to act out Calvin's antics, but he continues to appreciate them as I do. . . Thanks, Bill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 14, 2003
if u liked the simsons,and if your a comic lover, or just love comedy, this is a wonderful book ! i love it because it is so FUNNY!! i fell in love w/ these series, i buy as many as i can. this is a good book for you to start to fall in love with C&H. Other good C&H books are Werdeos from another planet, and its a magical world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 30, 2003
Lest anyone feel weary about buying a kid's comic book: don't! Bill Watterson writes for an intelligent audience and even though Calvin is six year old boy he often says things that are clearly the work of an adult.
Calvin is determinedly and hillariously anti-authoritarian. Bill Waterson got into some trouble once for drawing a cartoon where Calvin fantasized about blowing up his school with an F-16 and heat seeking missles. I agree with Waterson that this just goes to show that some people were never kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 30, 2002
truly and surely one of the best comic strips ever! were you to be sick in bed and need something to make you laugh, this is the best medicine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 9, 1998
I love reading Bill Waterson's cartoons. The stories, the colors, the amazing faces Calvin makes: all make for laughter and enjoyment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here