CDN$ 30.72 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days. Sold by langton_distribution

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 42.69
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Add to Cart
CDN$ 65.93
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Serenade 1/Negro Folk Symphony Import

Price: CDN$ 30.72
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Ships from and sold by langton_distribution.
3 new from CDN$ 30.72 1 used from CDN$ 35.74

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 10 2007)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • ASIN: B000M05VMA
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. I. Allegro Molto - Leopold Stokowski
2. II. Scherzo: Allegro Non Troppo - Leopold Stokowski
3. III. Adagio Non Troppo - Leopold Stokowski
4. IV. Menuetto I-Menuetto II - Leopold Stokowski
5. V. Scherzo: Allegro - Leopold Stokowski
6. VI. Rondo: Allegro - Leopold Stokowski
7. I. Tema: Moderato-Var. 1-Var. 2-Tema - Dimitri Mitropoulos
8. II. Andante Energico - Dimitri Mitropoulos
9. III. Allegro Sostenuto, Ma Con Brio - Dimitri Mitropoulos
10. IV. Adagio Pesante - Dimitri Mitropoulos
See all 13 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. I. Adagio-Allegro Con Brio (The Bond Of Africa) - Leopold Stokowski
2. II. Andante-Allegretto Alla Scherzando-Andante (Hope In The Night) - Leopold Stokowski
3. Allegro Con Brio (O, Le' Me Shine, Shine Like A Morning Star!) - Leopold Stokowski
4. Lento Ma Non Troppo - Dimitri Mitropoulos

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x971cbeb8) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x97ed015c) out of 5 stars Don't Forget About Prokofiev April 17 2009
By Michael E. Shimniok - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I bought this disc to replace an ancient, beat up 1950's Decca LP of the Dimitri Mitropoulos-conducted Prokofiev works (Overture on Hebrew Themes and Quintet in G minor). You may notice this conductor, composer, and composition go unmentioned on the title of the CD itself.

While I continue to find them to be the most interesting and engaging pieces on the disc, the other material is by all means a bonus. I just happen to really dig the Prokofiev works which strike me as a more modern aesthetic than the other pieces. But I would doubt they'd have a universal appeal.

Sonically speaking the entire disc is well recorded with an honest, intimate kind of sound, but without much sense of room acoustics, very different in style from most newer classical recordings.
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x97ed048c) out of 5 stars Some very nice things from this odd couple June 6 2007
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I've never seen Stokowski and Mitropoulos paired before, but both conductors were associated with the NY Phil. in the late Forties and early Fifties. This twofer from DG brings together material originally released elsewehre. Anyone who assumes that Stokowski can't touch a score without tricking it out in plush strings and soupy phrasing should hear this lovely Brahms Serenade #1, incongruously paired with a dated American semi-classical work, the folksy but pretty basic Dawson Symphony based on Negro spirituals. In the original CD issue from MCA I threw the Dawson away to keep the Brahms. The "Symphony of the Air" is a moniker briefly taken on by the NBC Sym. after Toscanini died in 1956 and the musicians were thrown back on their own devices.

The Mitropoulos material features two Prokofiev chamber pieces; both are sparkling and vibrant, and the transferred sound is quite good for its age. The Over. on Hebrew Themes, here played in its chamber version, is the best recording I've ever come across. Since the musical groups involved form quite a divrese bunch, here's a run-down:

Symphony Of The Air / Leopold Stokowski - Serenade No.1 in D op.11 (Brahms). New York Ensemble of the Philharmonic Scholarship Winners / Dimitri Mitropoulos - Quintet in G minor op.39. Overture on Hebrew Themes op.34 (Prokofiev). American Symphony Orchestra / Leopold Stokowski - Negro Folk Symphony (William Levi Dawson). New York Ensemble of the Philharmonic Scholarship Winners / Dimitri Mitropoulos - Night Music - Weintraubenmusik (Howard Swanson).
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x971d71f8) out of 5 stars Great Brahms and Prokovieff, but skip the American works Aug. 22 2007
By Brian H. Williams - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The only reason to buy this is the Brahms Seranade. You also get some performances by Mitropolous performing Prokofieff. The other cd is American works by Black composers. If you die without hearing these works, you won't miss anything. They are not bad, but not exactly classics. I can appreciate Stoky trying to promote new works, but they are just mediocre. The good news is that the remastering is excellent. Much better than the old MCA edition from 1989. Not much stereo spread on the seranade, because it's closely miked, but it sounds good. Buy it for the Brahms and Prokofieff, but skip the others.