CDN$ 44.83 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 70.07
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Shaken & Stirred Import

Price: CDN$ 44.83
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
2 new from CDN$ 44.83 5 used from CDN$ 9.07

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Dec 2 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Sire / London/Rhino
  • ASIN: B000003MSM
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Diamonds Are Forever - David McAlmont
2. Nobody Does It Better - Aimee Mann
3. Space March - Leftfield
4. All Time High - Pulp
5. Moonraker - Shara Nelson
6. The James Bond Theme - LTJ Bukem
7. Live And Let Die - Chrissie Hynde
8. Thunderball - Martin Fry
9. From Russia With Love - Natacha Atlas
10. On Her Majesty's Secret Service - Propellerheads
11. We Have All The Time In The World - Iggy Pop

Product Description

The Independence Day composer has gathered a batch of marquee singers--Chrissie Hynde, Pulp's Jarvis Cocker, and Iggy Pop included--to salute the Bond mystique. These songs are imbedded in the collective unconscious, and the over-the-top arrangements on the Aimee Mann-sung "Nobody Does It Better" and Martin Fry's "Thunderball" are a treat. Better yet are the electronic, club-ready tracks by Leftfield and Propellerheads (doing "On Her Majesty's Secret Service"). --Jeff Bateman

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9e8bb90c) out of 5 stars 14 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9e564024) out of 5 stars Sometimes Shaken...Often Just Stirred June 13 2000
By C. Michael Massey - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I think this is a great album, but have to admit that, for the most part, Arnold doesn't do anything too radical with these classic James Bond themes. Instead, most of the album (7 of the 11 songs) is pretty traditional, molding original compositions to contemporary electronic styles without any particularly ingenious interpretation in the vocals.
Songs like David McAlmont's "Diamonds Are Forever," Shara Nelson's "Moonraker," Martin Fry's "Thunderball," and Iggy Pop's "We Have All the Time in the World" seemed pretty much as they did back in the seventies and eighties with Shirley Bassey, Tom Jones, and Louis Armstrong singing them. Others, like Aimee Mann's "Nobody Does It Better" (one of my favorite Bond themes), and Natacha Atlas' "From Russia With Love" actually seem a little weak and seem to *lose* something in their new skins.
On the other hand, Chrissie Hynde seems to breathe a little (but not too much) new energy into the now oft-played "Live and Let Die" and Pulp does a nice-sounding rendition of "All Time High" that's a lot less fluffy sounding than the original.
What I *can* credit Arnold with is collecting some great instrumental interpretations of traditional Bond themes. Leftfield does a great play on "Space March," LTJ Bukem does a smooth (if a little monotonous) version of "The James Bond Theme," and the Propellorheads spin an awesome take on "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" (which includes a short bit of "Space March" in it). If you're a Bond music enthusiast at all, you'd buy it just for these three awesome tracks, which are a perfect blend of 60s pop bases with millenium-era electronic and hip hop sensibilities.
Regardless of the few somewhat lame songs, this is definitely worth your time for the three instrumentals, if nothing else. Arnold has done a great job composing for the last two Bond flicks and this shows his talent and enthusiasm for the project before it began.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9e29ae58) out of 5 stars Good CD if you're planning a James Bond party Nov. 13 1999
By A Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Bond goes Techno-pop. I enjoy a little more than half of the tracks on this CD. Great for my Bond party, but I doubt I'll keep this CD in regular rotation otherwise. It is a good companion to the 30th Anniversary Bond CD, and it's worthwhile for diehard Bond fans to add to their collection.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9e166750) out of 5 stars WOW! Is all I can say! Feb. 25 2008
By insoc - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Don't believe the bad reviews. This a great album, with lush arrangements that respect the original version but add another view. All Time High by Pulp is really sublime as well as the orchestrations of Moonraker and the Space Themes. If you know by heart the original James Bond's themes you will really appreciate this album. I wish there was a second album!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9e1d990c) out of 5 stars David Arnold does it again. Sept. 23 2001
By Josh Swanner - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I'm a big James Bond fan, and i have a very big collection of James Bond music. This cd is definetly good for any James Bond collection, or just to listen to. David Arnold does a great job with the songs. OHMSS is definatley the best song on it. Nobody does it better is ok. I did excpect more from it. All time high was one of my favorites, and on this cd it is one of the best. Live and Let Die, Diamonds are forever, and We have all the time in the world are also very good. The James Bond Theme was ok. It really didn't have much of the theme as OHMSS did. I hope you enjoy this cd as much as i have!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9e64a30c) out of 5 stars Worth it for techno version of On Her Majesty's alone! June 14 2000
By LP Dacey - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Outstanding versions of On Her Majesty's Secret Service by the Propellerheads and the funky Space March by Leftfield