<Embed>
CDN$ 18.27
  • List Price: CDN$ 21.49
  • You Save: CDN$ 3.22 (15%)
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Available as a Kindle eBook. Kindle eBooks can be read on any device with the free Kindle app.
Ships from Canada and sold by Christian Resources Canada.
Arrives: Dec 1 - 7
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Shalom Sistas Paperback – Oct. 3 2017

4.8 out of 5 stars 75 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
CDN$ 18.27
CDN$ 15.55 CDN$ 19.82
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Shalom Sistas
  • +
  • Be the Bridge: Pursuing God's Heart for Racial Reconciliation
  • +
  • The Very Good Gospel: How Everything Wrong Can Be Made Right
Total price: CDN$66.76
Buy the selected items together

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Click here to download the iOS app
    Apple
  • Click here to download the Android app
    Android
  • Click here to download the Windows Phone app
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton


Product details

  • Item Weight : 272 g
  • Paperback : 240 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 151380149X
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1513801490
  • Dimensions : 13.72 x 2.03 x 21.34 cm
  • Publisher : Menno Media; 1st edition (Oct. 3 2017)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 75 ratings

Product description

Review

"Moore, a podcaster and advocate, debuts with a passionate memoir and guidebook to living that is drawn from her experiences as a minister and activist. In 2005 Moore was doing community development work in New Orleans when Hurricane Katrina forced her to relocate to Boston. After losing all of her possessions, she had a spiritual reawakening and decided to forge a new identity as a "shalom sista" a peacemaker grounded in love, not fear. For herself and other followers of Christ who seek peace on Earth, Moore presents a 12-part manifesto that advocates choosing subversive joy, serving before speaking, and telling better stories. She explains how to deepen everyday spirituality through stories of her own life as a black minister and podcaster married to a white minister and raising their three children; through revisiting her blogged essays; and through Bible stories applied to contemporary political situations. With sass, common sense, humor, and wisdom, Moore embraces mothering and sistering, provides recipes, and decries racism. Through all these diverse threads, the book doesn't become unwieldy. Fans of Elizabeth Cunningham, Anne Lamott, and Nadia Bolz-Weber will be delighted with this new, exciting voice."-- "Reviews"

"A clarion call to justice, peace, and good old-fashioned laughter, Shalom Sistas will leave you changed. It's a book I can recommend to friends across the political and cultural spectrum--not because it is safe but because it is profoundly, prophetically true."--Rachel Held Evans "Reviews"

"All the jazz hands for this book! Shalom Sistas is the book we all need right now. Osheta Moore will make you laugh, challenge you, and offer you a practical path to peacemaking. You will want to be her friend and show up at her house for red beans and rice."--Melanie Dale "Reviews"

"Don't even think about using a highlighter as you read Shalom Sistas. You'll end up with entire pages colored in neon yellow! Instead, sit down with a cup of coffee, an open heart, and a box of tissues. Osheta Moore writes with conviction and humor about God's invitation to be a peacemaker."--Kathy Khang "Reviews"

"Filled with real stories and tangible practices, Shalom Sistas will challenge, encourage, and strengthen readers to respond to God's call and bravely engage in the beautiful kingdom work of peacemaking."--Kathy Escobar "Reviews"

"Gloriously filled to the brim with Osheta Moore's wit, wisdom, courage, and beautiful honesty, Shalom Sistas challenges and propels me toward a joy-infused life of peacemaking for years to come."--Jerusalem Greer "Reviews"

"God calls us beyond the surface kinds of friendships we've gotten used to and invites us into the richness of deeply meaningful relationships. Shalom Sistas extends the invitation once again, because clearly, God is not giving up on us."--Deidra Riggs "Reviews"

"I am so grateful for Osheta Moore's sassy voice, calling forth the Shalom Sistas of our generation. She invites us to practice ordinary acts of peace. She's my kind of woman, and I love her book."--Idelette McVicker "Reviews"

"I can't remember a book I've waited for with more anticipation than Osheta Moore's Shalom Sistas. Her writing and teaching have revolutionized my life, and her approach to the active, engaged, and vital work of peacemaking has the potential to change our world."--Megan Tietz "Reviews"

"In a world often wrought with unrest, Shalom Sistas offers a compelling way forward. A must-read for all who are determined to find and create life-giving spaces in the midst of chaos!"--Gail Song Bantum "Reviews"

About the Author

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
75 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top review from Canada

Reviewed in Canada on October 7, 2017
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Lindsay E. Goodwin
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a Deep Breath of Fresh Air
Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2017
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Matt
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, funny, and challenging, what a great read
Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2017
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Abby Perry
5.0 out of 5 stars Captured my Mind, Stirred my Heart, and Set my Hands to Work
Reviewed in the United States on September 29, 2017
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
NKT
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging Yet Worth It
Reviewed in the United States on October 3, 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Stephanie Thoen
5.0 out of 5 stars She is funny and real when sharing life stories
Reviewed in the United States on September 25, 2017
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse