Sibelius: Symphonies Nos.... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sibelius: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 7; Finlandia; Pelléas and Mélisande Import

Price: CDN$ 19.94 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
6 new from CDN$ 15.74

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Aug. 12 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Guild
  • ASIN: B0017RRDS2
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa6cee3b4) out of 5 stars 1 review
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa63cf78c) out of 5 stars Musically magical, technically fair Feb. 4 2012
By Laszlo - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The ocassion was 1953. An all-Sibelius concert in Helsinki, with the composer listening from home in Järvenpää (he was 88 then). The younger (by sixteen years) Stokowski does his magic here, no doubt. For those of us who love his conducting (he is always so full of fresh and compelling ideas!) this is a must. You can hear a piece in dozens of versions, but Stokie makes you listen to it afresh. It's magic because I simply don't know how he did it.
For his conducting and the sense of ocassion (CBS radio network announcements included) this is a great release. But the tape (or source) shows severe deterioration, becoming quite uncomfortable at times. You have to make a true effort to perceive the magic behind the distortion.
Worth it, anyway, depending on your priorities and the price offered.