Sinfonia Buenos Aires Ban... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sinfonia Buenos Aires Bandone

Price: CDN$ 14.92 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 8.45 1 used from CDN$ 12.43

Product Details

  • Performer: Guerrero; Binelli; Yang; Nashville Symphony Orchestra
  • Composer: Piazzolla Astor
  • Audio CD (Sept. 28 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B003VC51XA
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #188,521 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Astor Piazzolla' name has become synonymous with tango, the signature dance of his native country, Argentina. In the Sinfonia Buenos Aires, Piazzolla' development of symphonic tango is notable for brilliant, original and often complex orchestration. His B

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9c3fbc3c) out of 5 stars 4 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c93bf84) out of 5 stars A Piazzolla grab-bag, but beautifully played Oct. 29 2010
By Dean Frey - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The Nashville Symphony Orchestra really showed their stuff in Latin American repertoire with their highly-regarded Naxos recording of the complete Bachianas Brasileiras of Villa-Lobos in 2000 (conducted by the late Kenneth Schermerhorn). This new Naxos disc brings this strong tradition to the most important orchestral works of Astor Piazzolla, under the direction of Nashville's dynamic Music Director Giancarlo Guerrero.

The Sinfonia Buenos Aires was written under the influence of Piazzolla's teacher Alberto Ginastera. Though this rather episodic work doesn't share Ginastera's formal mastery, it's a sprawling, colourful symphonic work (or rather, three symphonic movements). The Concerto for Bandoneon is, I think, more successful. It may, in fact, be Piazzolla's best orchestral work, partly because it's scored for strings and percussion only.

The final work on the disc is Las Cuatro Estaciones Portenas (Four Seasons of Buenos Aires), in a version for violin and orchestra made by Leonid Desyatnikov after Piazzolla's death. Though I'm not a complete musical purist - I love Charlie Parker's sessions with strings, for example - I'm not a fan of this particular pastiche. Piazzolla's nuevo tango style is itself a melding of traditional tango, Baroque, and jazz styles, so it's natural to experiment with new orchestrations. But I much prefer this music in a bandoneon-led small group. That said this version is very well played indeed, with Tianwa Yang providing some hair-raising turns on her violin.

Thomas May's thoughtful liner notes include a wealth of pertinent information about Piazzolla's life and music. This is just one of the areas in which Naxos excels. The label has raised the art and business of classical music to a very high level, especially considering the state of today's musical commerce.
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c93bfd8) out of 5 stars The Symphonic Piazzolla Dazzles Oct. 2 2010
By Dr. Debra Jan Bibel - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
From the opening blast of Piazzolla's Sinfonia Buenos Aires, composed early in his career in 1951, we are engaged in rich, complex, and sonically arresting orchestration. Piazzolla had studied with Ginastera for five years, and the lessons learned make this strongly classical, soulful, and rhythmic work a delightful surprise. Underlying tango elements, assisted by the trademark bandoneón, are present to complete the portrait of the energetic city. Shortly afterwards, Piazzolla concentrated on his nuevo tango for smaller ensembles, but in 1979 he provided another symphonic piece, a concerto for bandoneón and string orchestra that emphasizes the wistfulness and passsion somehow integral with the instrument's timbre. The Nashville Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Giancarlo Guerrero captures the variety of moods well in this recording, and Daniel Binelli is the maestro of the bandoneón, part of Piazzolla's own New Tango Sextet. His performance of the powerful and mournful lyricism of the second movement brings tears. The third work on the album is a composite of various writings that constitute a Four Seasons in the manner of Vivaldi. Here, it is arranged for violin and strings, with Tianwa Yang as soloist. Her precision and technique in meeting the rough and romantically lyrical requirements of these unusual pieces demonstrate why she is a rising international star. Each section is its own story; there is no uniting feature, other than some baroque references and an exploration of emotions. These symphonic works make this album an excellent, very worthy addition to anyone's Piazzolla or classical collection.
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c93c2b4) out of 5 stars i highly recommend this CD!!!! July 6 2013
By Daniel Binelli - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
An amazing recording. The repertory, the soloist interpretation, the orchestra and last but not least, the conductor.
I highly recommend it.
Pola Ferman
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c93c1ac) out of 5 stars Five Stars July 2 2015
By maria teresa cepollina raduan - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase

Look for similar items by category