Smetana: My Fatherland (M... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by calibris
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ships from the USA. Please allow 10-15 business days for delivery. Excellent customer service!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Smetana: My Fatherland (Ma vlast) [Import]

Price: CDN$ 29.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
7 new from CDN$ 29.99 6 used from CDN$ 26.94

Today Only: "Mad Max Anthology (4 Film Collection)" for $27.99
For one day only: "Mad Max Anthology (4 Film Collection)" is at a one day special price. Offer valid on October 20, 2016, applies only to purchases of products sold by, and does not apply to products sold by third-party merchants and other sellers through the site. Learn more.

Product Details

  • Actors: Smetana, Bayerischen Rundfunks Symphony Orchestra, Kubelik
  • Format: Classical, Color, DVD-Video, Widescreen, NTSC, Import
  • Language: English
  • Region: All RegionsAll Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: Euroarts
  • Release Date: May 27 2008
  • Run Time: 82 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • ASIN: B0017PE9HM
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.7 out of 5 stars 6 reviews
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAbulous. Must Have Aug. 21 2008
By P. Beltz - Published on
Verified Purchase
I don't know if Scott Morrison has a defective copy,becauseI watched a visual and sonically thrilling performance. No murkiness that I saw.
It was not as sharp as some newer releases but from 85 it's pretty good. It has some fabulous camera editing
I wonder if there is video from Kubelik and his last Czech Phil concert.
That would be wonderful
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Very Mixed Bag July 4 2008
By J Scott Morrison - Published on
On the one hand we have one of the greatest of Czech conductors, Rafael Kubelik, at the height of his powers and conducting one of the great European orchestras, his beloved Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, of which he had been principal conductor for almost twenty years. On the other hand, we have murky visuals -- this film was made in 1984 -- filmed at the visually appealing Herkulessaal in Munich (but you've never know it because of the murk and because of the use of distractingly arty closeups of the musicians through most of the film) and the even murkier sound. I tried listening to this DVD on three different rigs and the sound was always nearly unacceptable, with congested sound and lack of realistic ambience. (I even wondered if my disc had a manufacturing defect.) This is a pity because one can tell that these are wonderful performances of the quintessential nationalistic Czech set of orchestral tone poems. A pity.

Scott Morrison
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ma Vlast Feb. 25 2012
By Donald Waits - Published on
Verified Purchase
I bought this DVD over a year ago, but just got around to watching it. What a blessing it is, too! Very sad the this great conductor did not film more. The director, Hugo Kach, has done a remarkable service to the music and the orchestra. I had to twiddle with my audio equalizer a bit to get the sound balanced successfully, but now it is perfect. From the magnificent opening, played by two harps, one longs for that feeling of love for one's country that Smetana colors this work. There is an almost heartbreaking yearning for homeland in this piece. Most of us have lost that patriotism and pride so common to most people, especially when remembered through the eyes and ears of a master composer. Rafael Kubelik draws out of his orchestra the true spirit of a lost country ravaged by war and constant turmoil. It is difficult to single out one section of this fine orchestra, but the brass are particularly powerful and convincing. This is collaborative music making at its best. Kubelik and the players are as one mind, heart, and spirit. Very emotional performance and visually beautiful as well. Five stars are not enough!
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrepeatable. Excellent. June 14 2008
By Kevin P. Odaniel - Published on
Little grainy, but all-in-all very remarkable for a symphonic piece on video from that period -- conductor and orchestra in top form -- interestingly produced -- if you like the piece, you will hear and see things that are new to you throughout.

This is Kubelic's piece to interpret and this version is TOP CLASS and you're not going to find it elsewhere. If you love the piece or conductor, grab it before it leaves the catalog!
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS! Feb. 20 2016
By Gwyn Edwards - Published on
Verified Purchase
Heard this on Rick Steve's program about Belgrade and realized I hadn't heard it in decaDES!