Buy Used
CDN$ 9.59
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Michael_Mart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Pages are clean with no markings. Ships direct from Amazon!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Someplace to be Flying Hardcover – Feb 1 1998

4.4 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
CDN$ 69.36 CDN$ 4.80

See more ▸ Deals on Books

click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 380 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books; 1st ed edition (Feb. 5 1998)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0312858493
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312858490
  • Product Dimensions: 16.5 x 3.2 x 24.8 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 680 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,061,893 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

  • See Complete Table of Contents

Product description

From Amazon

Nobody does urban fantasy better than Charles de Lint. He has a gift for creating engaging, fully realized characters, totally believable dialogue, and a feeling that magic is just around the corner.

Someplace to Be Flying is set in Newford, a town familiar to readers of de Lint. (He set two prior novels (Memory and Dream and Trader) and two anthologies (Dreams Underfoot and The Ivory and the Horn) in Newford.) One late night, as Hank drives his gypsy cab, his reliable though perilous city is transformed. He encounters the mythical "animal people," and the experience leaves him--and the reader--questioning accepted reality.

"Hank just wanted away from here. He'd sampled some hallucinogens when he was a kid and the feeling he had now was a lot like coming down from an acid high. Everything slightly askew, illogical things that somehow made sense, everything too sharp and clear when you looked at it but fading fast in your peripheral vision, blurred, like it didn't really exist." Fans of Emma Bull and Terri Windling (as both an editor and an author) will enjoy de Lint. He can make you believe "as many as six impossible things before breakfast." --Nona Vero

From Library Journal

A cab driver and a freelance photographer come together in the town of Newford to explore the existence of the mythical "animal people" and discover the hidden world that lurks just outside their normal perceptions. The author of Trader (LJ 12/96) specializes in a unique brand of crossover fantasy that combines elements of magical realism with multicultural myths to illuminate the lives of his characters?the misfits and orphans of the modern world. De Lint's elegant prose and effective storytelling continue to transform the mundane into the magical at every turn. Highly recommended.
Copyright 1998 Reed Business Information, Inc.

See all Product description

23 customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-4 of 23 reviews

November 12, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
December 7, 2008
Format: Hardcover
June 2, 2000
Format: Hardcover
September 24, 2005
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?