1 used from CDN$ 131.36

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sonatas 4 & 5 Import

Available from these sellers.
1 used from CDN$ 131.36

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 23 1996)
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Accord
  • ASIN: B000004C9P
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9e4742a0) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9e475930) out of 5 stars Reger's Belle Époque Sonatas... Aug. 14 2007
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
One of the interesting things about Reger's oeuvre is its uniformity of ethos and expression. In other words, Reger was consistent in his content. Furthermore, his use of well-established forms--(e.g., string quartet and violin sonata)--are pleasing to enthusiasts of later-Romantic art music.

Withal, we have another offering here of Reger's works. Reger produced something like nine violin sonatas which--along with his cello sonatas, string quartets, piano trios, and a remarkable string sextet and clarinet quintet--though not nearly as "popular," can stand up to Brahms' achievement--to say nothing of Strauss' nor Pfitzner's.

This particular disc features Reger's Sonatas in C-major (1903), and f#-minor (1905). The works themselves contain Reger's usual game: highly pressurized initial movements; humourous scherzi; expanded, heavenly largos--(for his slow movements, Reger usually preferred the ultra-slow largo over the more commonly relaxed adagio or andante); and theme with variations.

See too Reger: The String Quartets; Clarinet Quintet ; Sonatas for Cello & Piano ; Reger: Complete Works for 2 Pianos ; Reger: Chamber Music, Vol. 5 ; Max Reger: String Quartets Op. 109 & Op. 121 - Joachim Quartett .

Reger: Complete String Quartets Max Reger: Cello Sonatas 1 & 4 Cello Sonatas 2 & 3 Reger: Complete Works for Violin Reger: Piano Trios

HASH(0x9c2ec738) out of 5 stars Very good. Condition just as advertised Jan. 22 2016
By Rev. Thomas V. Aadland - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Very good. Condition just as advertised, arrived promptly.

Look for similar items by category