Lute Sonatas Vol.6 has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Lute Sonatas Vol.6

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 15.03 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
21 new from CDN$ 10.00 4 used from CDN$ 12.43

Product Details

  • Performer: Robert Barto; Baroque Lute
  • Composer: Weiss
  • Audio CD (June 21 2005)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B0007ORDTK
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #75,745 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Introduzzione
2. Courante
3. Bourree
4. Sarabande
5. Menuet
6. Presto
7. Allemande
8. Courante
9. Gavotte
10. Sarabande
11. Menuet
12. Gigue
13. Prelude & Entree
14. Bourrees I & II
15. Gavottes I & II
16. Sarabande
17. Menuets I & II
18. Saltarella

Product Description

Sonates n°45, n°23 & n°7 / Robert Barto, luth baroque

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Wonderful composer, great lutenist!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa81763f0) out of 5 stars 10 reviews
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa6464150) out of 5 stars Barto does it again Aug. 7 2005
By Eric Khong - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Once again Robert Barto has played the music of Weiss beatifully. This disc follows on from the 5 earlier discs by the same artist of Weiss's lute music. The playing is superb, and the recording is close to flawless. Audiophiles will notice that the technical aspects of this recording are in fact barely noticeable, a sign of a truly good recording.

The music of Weiss is undergoing a revival after many decades of neglect. This fine composer, who met and played with J.S. Bach, was the most gifted lutenist of his day. He produced many fine pieces, and this CD brings three more of his sonatas to public attention. Heartily recommended.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa6464474) out of 5 stars THROUGH OUT HIS COMPOSITIONAL LIFE Aug. 26 2007
By Amazon Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
According to the numbers and the recording notes in Volume 6 of the Naxos label's recordings of Weiss' Lute sonatas, the sonatas contained therein (#7 in C minor, #45 in A major and #23 in B flat major) were written throughout Weiss' compositional life. According to the notes, Weiss' compositional maturity was truly reached in, of course, #45. Not being a musical scholar, I really can not rate these works as to there compositional maturity or immaturity. I only know that to me ALL three works are beautiful as played by Robert Barto. He plays all three works with such gorgeous tone that listening to this recording brought much solace to my life!
If you enjoy the sound of the lute, you really can't get much better than this album. It is indeed filled with beautiful music that is played exquisitely. The sound of the recording is great too--thank you Naxos.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa62c75dc) out of 5 stars Music from Bach's Buddy Aug. 24 2008
By Arthur Chandler - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Though you would never mistake Weiss's music for Bach's, they were contemporaries, and spoke the same harmonic language. Weiss even used to challenge Bach (in a friendly way) to improvisation contests. When you listen to this music -- especially as performed by Robert Barto, probably the greatest living lutenist -- you can get a sense of just how rich was the musical atmosphere of Germany in the 18th century.
Highly recommended!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa6464480) out of 5 stars lost treasure unearthed! Nov. 18 2009
By noeton - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Barto is so very good; the recording first-rate. Rarely does a product of any type whatsoever provide this magnitude of "bang for your buck." Cannot recommend it more highly. I'm just so glad someone has at last dusted off these lovely gems and shone such a radiant light on them.

Buy all the volumes - you won't be disappointed.

For a full and perhaps fun discussion of this material see my review of Volume I.
By Christopher Wilke - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Although the covers of Barto's Naxos series of Weiss recordings may look similar, this album is a true standout in the excellent group. The playing is as technically masterful as we've come to expect from Barto, combined with a vigorous approach seldom heard on lute recordings. On top of that, the specific pieces recorded here are some of the best, by one of the greatest lute composers of all time.