Sons Pno Vol. 5 has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sons Pno Vol. 5

Price: CDN$ 26.97 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
32 new from CDN$ 21.98 3 used from CDN$ 29.98

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Oct. 23 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Universal Music Canada
  • ASIN: B000TLPW5I
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #113,474 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Allegro Vivace
2. Adagio Grazioso
3. Rondo. Allegretto
4. Largo - Allegro
5. Adagio
6. Allegretto
7. Allegro
8. Scherzo. Allegretto Vivace
9. Menuetto. Moderato E Grazioso
10. Presto Con Fuoco
Disc: 2
1. Allegro Con Brio
2. Introduzione. Adagio Molto
3. Rondo. Allegretto Moderato
4. Andante Grazioso Con Moto

Product Description

The fifth in Schiff's chronological survey of Beethoven's 32 sonatas, the pillars of the piano repertoire. Includes the popular favourites "The Tempest", "The Hunt" and "Waldstein". Schiff has been one of the most acclaimed pianists in the world for three decades, and earlier volumes received rave reviews.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9b7b5c24) out of 5 stars 9 reviews
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b998dc8) out of 5 stars Beethoven through fresh eyes and ears Oct. 31 2007
By J. Cegledy - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Andras Schiff continues his impressive Beethoven Sonatas series. It is characterized by that rare combination of keen sensitivity to musical expression, fidelity to text and meticulous attention to detail. The articulation and lively crispness of execution is a sheer delight. There are many surprising insights that are completely convincing. Of the many great Beethoven Sonatas recordings, this can be most recommended to students as an example of how to bring the text alive without any exaggeration yet with sensitivity and depth of musical expression.

The booklets in this series are of special interest. Andras Schiff shares his outlook and insights on these works and we get a glimpse of how great interpretations evolve. For piano students as well as for lovers of these works, Andras Schiff's Beethoven Sonata series is to be highly recommended!
Janos Cegledy, Tokyo
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bc20a98) out of 5 stars One of the best April 15 2013
By Mike in PDX - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
There are many fine recordings of the Beethoven piano sonatas. I very much like Schiff's interpretations, and the set is recorded in very good sound. The interpretations are not dull, but are somewhat less angry than some others, and more warm and touching in places. I recommend this -- and the other volumes in the set -- to anyone with an interest in these keystones of the piano literature. If you have other versions, these are worth adding. If you don't, these are a great place to start.
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b988ce4) out of 5 stars Schiff's free Beethoven sonata lectures March 25 2008
By Fred Von Lohmann - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Don't miss Andras Schiff's excellent lectures about Beethoven's sonatas. The perfect accompaniment for this cycle, available for free from the Guardian UK website (google: schiff guardian uk).
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b9aa954) out of 5 stars Andras Schiff – the inspired guide to Beethoven Sept. 16 2014
By P. Adrian - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This fifth volume of the integral cycle of Beethoven piano sonatas recorded some ten years ago by the legendary pianist Andras Schiff highlights he features of the middle period in Titan’s output. Looking for a new way of dealing with music, Beethoven explores in the op.31 triptych new and daring directions in his art. The ludicrous no.1 in G major contrasts in a inspired manner with the tense “Tempest” or the vivid “Hunt”. The second CD of this twofer comprises the pages dedicated to count Waldstein, namely the sonata in C major op.53 and its companion Andante favori in F major.

Useless to say, Schiff gets the very essence of this music. He seems completely immersed in it and follows a logical and expressive line. His theoretical insights and artistic honesty lead him to a remarkable achievement. His conversations with the Swiss musicologist Martin Meyer (included in the booklets of all the volumes in the cycle) are a priceless guide in understanding and approaching Beethoven’s universe. A persistent sense of narration and a wondrous flavor of authenticity surface the proceedings. Schiff seems one of the most entitled interpreters to convey the inexhaustible beauties of this supremely existential repertoire.
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bc27bd0) out of 5 stars Shiff Continues to Thrill July 1 2008
By Joe Murray - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Andras Schiff continues to thrill with his Beethoven Piano Sonata cycle. His lecture series on these works on the Guardian UK website explains the philosophy behind this cycle. More Urtext. Less affectation. His Op 31 is illuminating. There is something so opulent in Schiff's austerity - it is as though he strips the pieces down to their inner beauty. The Andante Favori encore of the Waldstein is a true bonus.