String Quartets E Minor D... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shrinkwrap may be renewed, no visible damage on disc or booklet. Jewel case may have cosmetic damage, online codes for possible online content are expired or missing. Shipping time 8-21 business days.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

String Quartets E Minor D Ma

Price: CDN$ 20.07 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
13 new from CDN$ 15.90 1 used from CDN$ 15.88

Product Details

  • Performer: Takacs Quartet
  • Composer: Smetana, Borodin
  • Audio CD (Aug. 16 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ark
  • ASIN: B0000AQS7X
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #306,922 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9d31fa08) out of 5 stars 1 review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9da90bd0) out of 5 stars A thoroughly satisfying pairing of two loved Romantic quartets May 20 2012
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Note: I'm not familiar iwth the Artek reissue of this Cd. This review applies to the Decca original, which has a confusing listing at amazon.

This energetic program of Smetana and Borodin was taped at the end of 1995, at a time when string quartets were not yet banished form major labels and when the Takacs still had two Hungarian members, second violin Karoly Scranz and cellist Andras Fejer. Even with two English members, the Tkacs were unusually bold players, to the point of offering sharp attacks, intense pacing, and blunt phrasing. They eschewed the elegance of the Tokyo quartet and the always beautiful unanimity of the Alban Berg. (Did growing up in the shadow of Soviet domination make them avoid Shostakovich? One would think their approach ideal for his restless, moody quartets.)

To lovers of the string quartet literature, the Smetana "From My Life" Quartet and the Borodin No. 2, famous for its lovely Nottorno (third movement, in place of an Adagio), are if anything overly familiar. I should hesitate before applying that label - literacy in this genre seems to be fast declining, and these delightful works may be new to many listeners. In both works the Takacs plays in a style I very much favor, leaving aside Victorian sweetness for more bite and thrust. Yet each instrumentalist possesses a lovely, distinctive tone, so there is no risk of homogeneity. The hard way to build a great quartet is through the meeting of strong personalities, yet in the end it's the most gratifying way.

My only reservation is that the audio perspective is fairly distant, as if in the concert hall. Inner detail isn't as clear as it could be, and at times the sound is blurry. but this is preferable to the edgy, shrill xray sound that Decca gave the Beethoven cycle made by the Takacs. I don't know the present state of this group, having last heard them when they had just replaced the violist. But here they are in excellent form, and I'm happy to name this CD my first choice in both works, equal to my beloved ABQ. (The stingy total timing of 51 min. is fairly typical of string quartet recordings.)