String Quartets Nos. 1 & ... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by beat_goes_on
Condition: Used: Like New
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

String Quartets Nos. 1 & 2

Price: CDN$ 14.91 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
22 new from CDN$ 6.50 9 used from CDN$ 4.59

Product Details

  • Composer: Borodin
  • Audio CD (July 31 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B0000013ZB
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #64,292 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Moderato - Allegro
2. Andante Con Moto
3. Scherzo: Prestissimo
4. Allegro Risoluto
5. Allegro Moderato
6. Scherzo: Allegro
7. Notturno: Andante
8. Andante - Vivace

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9aab7240) out of 5 stars 11 reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99f0ad74) out of 5 stars great quartets and a good introduction to Borodin May 13 2010
By C. Melnychuk - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
These quartets were my first introduction to Borodin's music, and they remain one of my favorite pieces to listen to when I want something "light". The playing by the Budapest Haydn Quartet is very good. They bring out a little bit of the "russianess" in the music while giving a tight, technically sound performance. The recorded sound on the disc is also quite good. Overally, highly recommended.
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9aa14fd8) out of 5 stars Borodin's Strings Sept. 8 2012
By Eric S. Kim - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Alexander Borodin is known for only his opera, Prince Igor. The rest of his works are basically unknown to a huge fraction of the world's population. Several years ago, I introduced myself to Borodin by purchasing a studio recording of Prince Igor. I was impressed by the rich orchestrations and unique Slavic melodies. Jump to 2012, and this is when I decide to delve deeper into Borodin's music. I recently purchased his two String Quartets, and I do say that I'm enjoying every minute of it. Like most chamber music from the Romantic era, these String Quartets aren't very melodic or catchy at times, and yet the passion and power of Borodin's orchestrations are present. These two compositions come straight from his heart. These are beautiful, astounding works.

The Haydn Quartet (Budapest) give fine performances of both compositions. The sound is polished and clear (credit should also go to Naxos for fine quality).

Grade: 9.7 out of 10
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99abeaa4) out of 5 stars Mystical magical Borodin quartets May 12 2007
By Freeman Gunter - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Smooth, sleek yet beautifully defined performances of two string quartets that are among the composer's best works. I can't imagine more satisfying performances. I play this disc frequently with great pleasure. Freeman Gunter
HASH(0x9983fa8c) out of 5 stars Delicate and Sensative playing from Budapest May 3 2014
By NUC MED TECH - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
05-03-2014 The Haydn Quartet, from Hungary, perform here the two String Quartets by the Russian composer, Alexander Borodin, one of the Members of the famous group of Russian composers known as The FIVE their collective mission was to establish a sort of "Russian school" of composition. This never really came about but the five composers had careers of various levels of success, that they became more famous individually, than collectively. Of the Five, Alexander Borodin, a medical school Chemistry professor, was a gifted and inventive part-time composer, his scientific career consuming the greater majority of his time.
As I swung into the second Quartet, the beauty and delightfulness of these two works overwhelmed me and I simply could not resist just listening and dropped typing. For the low price this Naxos CD is a real treat and a great bargain, but you also get the very fine playing of these Hungarian wizards who spin their magical web of beautiful, delicate and brilliant ideas. And, I couldn't help wondering what Borodin might have written had he not tried to burn the candle at both ends, the medical and the musical careers, but just the musical one. His inventiveness in these wonderfully melodic chamber works impressed me very much and the playing by the Budapest based musicians make this release from Naxos one of my real jewels. I hadn't listened this closely to these two pieces until this morning, and now I am just amazed at how fine they truly are.
My Very Highest Recommendations for these works, and played by these individuals, whom I may guess are on the young side. I'll look to type an addendum to this review after I am finished, but for now, I just want to hear this splendid music a second time. Get yours today, and do the same! A very, very good release and one deserving of 5 extremely bright stars!! And, as always, God bless you all, and happy listening to you all. Tony.

ADDENDUM************************************As promised, here is a brief addendum--------The Haydn Quartet,
from Budapest, consists of Janos Horvath and Lajos Foldesi, violins
Andras Rudolf, viola and Gabor Magyar, Cello. The leader, Horvath, is a
graduate from the Tchaikovsky Conservatory, Moscow campus, in 1979. The
other players were trained at the Budapest Liszt Academy, one of Europe's
finest musical schools. I could not find any more info on these artists,
other than their splendid musicianship---I would guess that ANYTHING from
them would be a fine choice. They are simply terrific!!---Tony.
By magnum - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
perhaps best known for the steppes.... this is rousing music... makes you want to jump on the table -- like at the end of the movie patton with George c scott....signed... magnum...