String Quartets has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

String Quartets

Price: CDN$ 14.93 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 6.62 4 used from CDN$ 6.61

Product Details

  • Performer: Ronald Corp
  • Composer: Corp Ronald
  • Audio CD (March 29 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B004KDO2MU
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #304,196 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Praised for his previous choral music albums, British composer and conductor Ronald Corp now makes his Naxos chamber music debut with this disc. His First String Quartet takes its name from the world' largest, most stately and regal bird, the bustard, who

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa51d915c) out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa454aa74) out of 5 stars Discovering Ronald Corp Sept. 3 2011
By Grady Harp - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
For lovers of British composers the name of Ronald Corp will likely be familiar. For others this may be an introduction to some contemporary music that is both well constructed and very beautiful. From the liner we discover the background of this young man: Ronald Corp was born January 4, 1951 is a composer, conductor, and an Anglican priest who studied music at Oxford University. He is founder and Artistic Director of the New London Orchestra in 1988 and the New London Children's Choir. Corp is Musical Director of the London Chorus, a position he took up in 1994, and is also Musical Director of the Highgate Choral Society. He is a champion of neglected works and has composed many works for both accompanied and unaccompanied chorus and a heady group of instrumental works for orchestra and chamber groups.

On this fine album from Naxos the Maggini Quartet performs his first string quartet, 'The Bustard', a descriptive piece that celebrates the return of this somewhat ungainly bird to its homeland on the Salisbury Plain. The music soars and prattles in much the way this rather oversized bird presents himself and the result is an entertaining and often very beautiful depiction of a bird in flight. The second quartet, in celebration of the birth of a baby boy, is more dramatic and more compositionally pure in form. The Maggini Quartet is a fine group of instrumentalists who find solo lines an opportunity to demonstrate the richness of their training.

The song cycle 'Country Matters' for tenor and quartet is a group of poems by Steve Mainwaring and are at times sprechstimme in nature and at other times hilarious and a bit frightening. Mark Wilde is the tenor who makes the tricky works sound impossibly simple. In all this is an excellent introduction to the compositional gifts of Ronald Corp whose works likely will become often performed in this country. This is accessible and very beautiful contemporary music. Grady Harp, September 11

Look for similar items by category