2 used from CDN$ 67.68

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

String Sextet in F Import

Available from these sellers.
2 used from CDN$ 67.68

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Dec 12 1995)
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Jecklin
  • ASIN: B000009I3C
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9fa2c45c) out of 5 stars 1 review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9f716b10) out of 5 stars SUPERB STRINGS from RIGHTEOUS REGER... Aug. 5 2007
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
This disc will be difficult to obtain, as it's a 1988 issue on the small Swiss label Jecklin; however, Reger's string Sextet is so excellent a work of Art that I wanted to bring attention to it. It's also available on another small Austrian label Da Camera Magna, Vol. 18 of Max Reger Kammermusik Gesamtaufnahme.

Brahms' two Sextets Brahms: Complete String Quartets, Quintets & Sextets ; Gliere's Gliere: Octet, Op. 5; Sextet, Op. 11 ; Strauss' String Quartet ; Schoenberg's Schoenberg: Transfigured Night / String Trio ; and others (Gade, Raff, Rimsky, Dvorak, Tchaikovsky).

Well, Reger's string Sextet in F, Op. 118 of 1910: a late masterpiece, in the company of his Fifth string Quartet (f#, Op. 121) and clarinet Quintet (A, Op. 146) Reger: The String Quartets; Clarinet Quintet . Large-boned, sometimes forceful and tense, sometimes sublime and lyrical, this monstrous four-movement work is quintessential Reger.

Features his calling-card polyphony; contrapntal density; extended chromaticism; fine filigree work; and energetic multiplicity of climaxes--multi-orgasmic, at it were. Some melodic charm with catchy, sometimes humourous tunes: in fact, the work has a bumptously bodacious boisterous buoyancy--not to say bombastic...

All except for the sublime and magnificent Largo con gran expressione which Reger himself called "Gebet mit dem lieben Gott--[Prayer with the Beloved God]." It is unsurpassed in the entire Reger literature. It is mystical, with great passion, yet serene, approaching Beethovenian heights. It is related to the Largo of his great piano Concerto Reger: Bach Variations; Piano Concerto No.1 [Germany] .

The Jecklin disc features Die Kammermusiker Zürich; the Da Camera disc, the Wührer-Streichsextett--which some old-timers (like myself) will remember on the old Musical Heritage Society LP from the '70s, as this is a re-issue of that performance.

Absolutely recommended.

Look for similar items by category