Strjon has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Strjon Import

Price: CDN$ 20.68 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Usually ships within 2 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
3 new from CDN$ 20.67 5 used from CDN$ 38.01
Daily Deals

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 20 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Rune Grammofon
  • ASIN: B000N3AW1Q
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

On his third and quite brilliant 2007album,, Arve Henriksen is joined by his Supersilent colleagues Helge Sten and St†le Storlokken. Sten has also produced the album. Strjon brings together the various sides of Henriksen, from the zen-like solo pieces of his debut album Sakuteiki to the open-ended melancholia of Chiaroscuro and dark, brooding lyricism of Supersilent. Strjon is the mediaeval name of Arve's hometown Stryn on the westcoast of Norway, referring to a streaming river or water. The nature around Stryn is fantastic and the changes between winter and summer are quite drastic, from crashing avalanches in steep mountains to calm beauty and majestic tranquility. Some of the music dates back to sketches made by a young Arve Henriksen in these surroundings, later worked on by both Arve himself and Helge Sten. Rune Grammofon.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.0 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars arve is very cool March 10 2008
By J. Appleby - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Strjon transports you to beautiful landscapes of desolation and wonderment. The meditative style of these great musicians and improvisers is demonstated magnificantly with care and sophistication. Some may interpret the overall relaxed mood of this music as new age, but the tenderness that flows out of these musicians highlights their maturity and patientce, rather than simplistic nothingness.
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Music Feb. 9 2008
By Scott Williams - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Trying to describe or categorize this CD is a difficult task. The CD is like a soundtrack to some surrealistic existential movie. It is kind of a mix between jazz and electronica. Some important things to know before you purchase are there are typically only one or two musicians playing on any given track and there is no percussion. At first this bothered me. One of the things I like most about listening to jazz is hearing the interactions between different musicians. Typically there is some electronic keyboard, or guitar line that creates a background, which Arve solos over. After listening to it for what it is rather than what it is not it has really grown on me. Arve has more or less created a musical documentary of the landscape of his youth. The music is reflective, deep, and moving.