Suites and Overtures has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Suites and Overtures

Price: CDN$ 14.91 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
7 new from CDN$ 14.91 2 used from CDN$ 38.68

Product Details

  • Performer: Orchestre De Bretagne; Sanderling
  • Composer: Gretry Andre-Ernest-Modeste
  • Audio CD (Jan. 30 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Asv
  • ASIN: B0000542HM
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #121,181 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Céphale et Procris, opera: suite
2. Céphale et Procris, opera: suite
3. Céphale et Procris, opera: suite
4. Le Jugement de Midas, opera: Overture
5. L'Épreuve Villageoise, opera: Overture
6. Le Tableau Parlant, opera: Overture
7. Le Huron, opera: Overture
8. Lucille, opera: Suite
9. Lucille, opera: Suite
10. Lucille, opera: Suite
11. Silvain, opera: Overture
12. L'Amitié A l'épreuve, opera: Overture
13. L'Ami de la maison, opera: Overture
14. L'Ami de la maison, opera: Overture
15. L'Ami de la maison, opera: Overture
16. Zémire et Azor, opera in 4 acts: Suite
17. Zémire et Azor, opera in 4 acts: Suite
18. Zémire et Azor, opera in 4 acts: Suite
19. Zémire et Azor, opera in 4 acts: Suite
20. Zémire et Azor, opera in 4 acts: Suite
See all 22 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa56e40a8) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa56ee378) out of 5 stars French music form another age Nov. 8 2010
By H. Deischer - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I first became aware of Gretry's music on a recording by Sir Thomas Beecham. Occasionally I have played that recording over the years. Then comes this CD entirely with Gretry's music. I had to have it and it just made me love his music even more. Stefan Sanderling has done us a great service by recording several other French composers not well-known in the United States. Not only are these pieces well-played but they add a new twist as to what French music is all about. I recommend this CD highly and hope it will make you wish to purchase other earlier French music.
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa674ef30) out of 5 stars Fluffy but entertaining - remembrance of a bygone era of French music Feb. 2 2012
By Discophage - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Grétry, Gossec, Méhul, Jadin - a lost generation of French/Belgian composers, all but obliterated between the generations active under the reign of Louis 15 (Rameau, Couperin) and Berlioz, the music of Mozart-Haydn and that of the Romantic generation. As the liner notes rightly put it, Grétry's life (1741-1813) spanned a period from the death of Haendel to the birth of Wagner It's hard to imagine that, among those, Grétry was the most famous, if not the inventor (Monsigny and Philidor were there first) but at least the greatest champion of "Opéra comique", in an era and a country that thirsted for it.

Why these composers, despite the huge fame they enjoyed in their days, were rapidly overshadowed is easy to understand listening to this disc of Overtures, excellently played by Orchestre de Bretagne under Stefan Sanderling: while writing music that was far more fluffy than Mozart's, and less witty and knowledgeable than Haydn's, Grétry's overtures remain entirely rooted in the "classical" and operatic style of the Ancien Regime, but with none of the orchestral inventivity and dazzling virtuosity of the early operas of Rossini, and no traces of evolution even towards even the anticipitation of romanticism that the more dramatic "Sturm und Drang" style represented. . Even when there are traces of drama, as in a short passage of the overture to "L'Amitié à l'épreuve" (track 12) (Friendship tested), it is short, and furthermore it sounds faked, a pretence of anger that doesn't fool the friend for a second. Other than a short passage of tempest music in the overture to Le Jugement de Midas (track 4), integral with wind machine, and an interesting variety of moods in the overtures to Le Magnifique (track 21) and William Tell (track 22), this is always entertaining, but light-weight, opera comique indeed, the music equivalent of cotton candy, agreeable on the ear and leaving little trace after. In fact I hear more genuine merriment and substance in the symphonies of Gossec, maybe because it has time to really develop in symphonic style (see for instance my reviews of Gossec: Symphonies - Premier Recording and Gossec: Symphonies, Oeuvre XII). But no wonder Rossini swept all that to oblivion. For sweeping and irresistible fun and "joie de vivre" on the Paris stage, Grétry was sent at once back into a bygone era. No reason for not enjoying the music on its own, and however modest, merits.

Oustanding liner notes, TT 70 minutes.