FREE delivery Thursday, September 30 on your first order. Details
Or fastest delivery Tomorrow, September 25. Order within 23 hrs 16 mins. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app.
$$20.91 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$20.91
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement within 30 days of receipt
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
FREE delivery October 8 - 21. Details
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Pages are clean and are not marred by notes or folds of any kind. ~ ThriftBooks: Read More, Spend Less
<Embed>
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link", you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Summer We Lost Her Paperback – June 4 2019

4.6 out of 5 stars 42 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
$20.91
$19.85 $4.68

Frequently bought together

  • The Summer We Lost Her
  • +
  • Then She Was Gone: A Novel
  • +
  • Watching You: A Novel
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

"The Summer We Lost Her is a compelling and complex portrait of a marriage and regret. Cohen spins a moving story with a high-stakes plot that won't let you go until you know the family's fate." --Heidi W. Durrow, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Fell From the Sky

"A finely nuanced, well-crafted family drama that succeeds in depicting the impact of child abduction on an already fragile marital bond."--Nicola Kraus, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Nanny Diaries "The Patriot Ledger"

"A heartbreaking tale of events no parent should ever have to endure . . . intriguing and filled with passion."--Nicola Kraus, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Nanny Diaries "New York Journal of Books"

"A sharp, suspenseful portrait of a family on the verge of collapse."--Nicola Kraus, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Nanny Diaries "Kirkus Reviews"

"At first glance Tish Cohen's astonishingly profound novel is an exquisitely written drama about a missing disabled little girl, but brace yourself, because that's just the top layer. Set against the background of competitive equestrian riding, The Summer We Lost Her dazzlingly unfolds the complexities of a fracturing marriage, the secrets we build our dreams on, and the fierce yearning to be someone other than who we really are. Compassionate, startling, and so full of life, the pages breathe." --Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You, Is This Tomorrow, and Cruel Beautiful World

"Cohen writes with command of a strained marriage facing unfathomable challenge, knowing precisely when to reveal and when to withhold. Deftly plotted and tensely paced, The Summer We Lost Her is impossible to put down." --Cathy Marie Buchanan, New York Times bestselling author of The Painted Girls

"Fans of Kristin Hannah and Jodi Picoult will enjoy this intense, character-driven story with the fate of a marriage at its heart."--Nicola Kraus, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Nanny Diaries "Booklist"

"How much stress can a marriage take? Tish Cohen answers this question with skill and artistry, capturing subtle shifts in mood and feeling as she escalates the pressure on her characters. They're forced to face their own foibles and weaknesses as well as each other's as they confront the mystery at the heart of this story. Atmospheric and compulsively readable."

--Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Nuanced characters and high-stakes drama drive the plot in Cohen's latest. Tense and emotional, readers will keep turning pages to find out if Gracie is returned home safely."--Nicola Kraus, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Nanny Diaries "Publishers Weekly"

"A complex and beautifully told story of a marriage in crisis, and the myriad ways our personal histories and our regrets come back to haunt us. Tish Cohen's characters are complicated and flawed and wonderfully precise, and somehow, by the time you turn the final pages of The Summer We Lost Her, they come to feel like family."--Julie Buxbaum, New York Times bestselling author of What To Say Next

"In this gripping and searing portrait of a marriage on the brink, Tish Cohen kept me on the edge of my seat through every twist and turn of her cleverly crafted plot."--Nicola Kraus, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Nanny Diaries

About the Author

Tish Cohen is the author of bestselling novels for adults and young readers, many of them in development for film. Her first novel, Town House, was a regional finalist for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Book. Cohen's short film, Russet Season, had its US premiere at the San Diego Jewish Film Festival in 2017. She lives in Toronto.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Gallery Books (June 4 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 352 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1501199684
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1501199684
  • Item weight ‏ : ‎ 272 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.49 x 2.03 x 20.96 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 42 ratings

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
42 global ratings
5 star
64%
4 star
29%
3 star
7%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from Canada

Reviewed in Canada on September 2, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on June 18, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on August 23, 2018
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on July 30, 2018
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on July 16, 2018
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on August 8, 2018
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling story of a marriage under pressure
By Duncan Stewart on August 8, 2018
Deftly plotted, Tish Cohen's latest book propels the reader from page to page. While we follow Elise and Matt's "marriage under pressure" and solve a mystery around their daughter Gracie, readers also unpack an intricate sequence of flashbacks that explain how the couple arrived at where they are today, and reveal the many hidden secrets and motivations that underlie every marriage. Largely told from Elise's perspective, some parts are also Matt's point of view, which brings balance and depth of character to both protagonists.

How page-turnable is Little Green? My wife was asleep in bed last night, and I kept reading beside her to finish the book and see how it all turned out.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
Reviewed in Canada on June 5, 2019
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Canada on June 20, 2019
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Camille
5.0 out of 5 stars AN HONEST LOOK AT LOVE, MARRIAGE & MOTHERHOOD
Reviewed in the United States on June 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Tamara
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple read
Reviewed in the United States on June 12, 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
jill gillis
5.0 out of 5 stars From beginning to end, this book did not disappoint
Reviewed in the United States on June 30, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Pam K.
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Summer Read!
Reviewed in the United States on July 24, 2019
Verified Purchase