2 new from CDN$ 286.53

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphonic Spectacular Vol. 2 [2 CD] Live

Available from these sellers.
2 new from CDN$ 286.53

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 17 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Live
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon - Universal Special Imports
  • ASIN: B000V9B7OI
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #320,314 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Festive Overture, Op.96
2. No.9 Wedding March
3. Toccata and Fugue
4. Fugue á la Gigue - Arr.: Gustav Holst
5. Sinfonia
6. Präludium
7. Gavotte
8. Adagio
9. Fugue in G minor, BWV 578 "The Little" - Arr.: L. Caillet
10. Schafe koennen sicher weiden (Sheep may safely graze) 11.March: Seventeen come Sunday
See all 13 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Overture di Ballo
2. Bolero [Boléro]
3. Ballet Music
4. No.1 in C (Presto)
5. Slavonic Dance in C, Op.72, No.7
6. Polonaise No.3 in A, Op.40 No.1 - "Military" - orch. Alexander Glazunov
7. A Night on the Bare Mountain - Orch. Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov
8. Danse Macabre Opus 40
9. Sabre Dance [Gayaneh]
10. Infernal Dance of King Kaschei
See all 11 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.7 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classics Played By a Great Orchestra and Conductor Nov. 18 2008
By Glen M. Peters - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
In 1970 after 40 years Fiedler and the Pops left their long time label RCA for Deutsche Grammaphone. In the last six years of his life Fiedler made 12 albums for them, none have ever been released to CD (except for the Disney music in 1994)until now in the 5 double CD collection The Fiedler Legacy, with album notes by Fiedler's daughter Johanna. This set combines several albums Fiedler made for DG of Orchestral music including most of the 1971 album of Overtures (except the Copland and Bernstein which are on the American music set)The first disc has two of those overtures (including a 1975 recording of the 1812)and much of Fiedler's 1976 album of Bach favorites including the Stokowski arrangement of the D Minor Prelude and Fugue (whiich was also on the Disney album) The second disc has the remaining overtures including (in my mind) the best recording of Arthur Sullivan's Overture De Ballo and the ballet music from Aida, two of the Dvorak Slavonic Dances and music by Chopin,Saint-Saens,Stravinsky (the only recording of his music Fiedler ever made)and Ravel's Bolero. I know that many music lovers might have much of this music in their collections but to own this set, which has much of the last recordings Fiedler made, is a real plus making it worthwild for them to add it to their CDs. For other lovers of the Pops and people just starting out collecting classical music this set is a fine addition to any library.
4.0 out of 5 stars Astounding Little Fugue in G Minor! Jan. 7 2015
By William Alexander - Published on Amazon.com
This disc has the BEST Little Fugure in G Minor I've ever heard. And I've listened to many of them! Talk about spectacular. I felt like I had melted into the music. Fiedler's interpretation is really, hands down, the most spectacular version I've heard. I have loved this piece since I was about 13 or 14, something like that. I had a previous best that held that spot for a long time, and then I heard this. My new favorite - 5+ stars for this. I've yet to hear the rest of the album, but given that piece, there has to be more on here. I may return and upgrade to 5 stars once I get through it. After I've finished listening to the little fugue that is, which may be a while. Simply astounding.
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection of Must Have Music Dec 10 2013
By John L Woodward - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
This has some six pieces that I have previously labeled as "a must" on my music list. I am underweighted on Boston Pops CDs as it is. This is brilliant.