CDN$ 30.84 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by @ ALLBRIGHT SALES @
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 61.26
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphonies 1 & 3 / Overture in C Import

Price: CDN$ 30.84
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by @ ALLBRIGHT SALES @.
4 new from CDN$ 29.95 9 used from CDN$ 6.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Dec 17 1993)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Asv Living Era
  • ASIN: B0000030TH
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Sym No.1 in C: First Movt: Larghetto - Allegro
2. Sym No.1 in C: Second Movt: Andante Con Moto
3. Sym No.1 in C: Third Movt: Minuetto (Allegretto) And Trio
4. Sym No.1 in C: Fourth Movt: Finale (Allegro Vivace)
5. Ov in C
6. Sym No.3 in G 'The Great National': First Movt: Andante Sostenuto - Allegro Con Brio
7. Sym No.3 in G 'The Great National': Second Movt: Andante Un Poco Mosso
8. Sym No.3 in G 'The Great National': Third Movt: Minuetto (Allegretto) And Trio
9. Sym No.3 in G 'The Great National': Fourth Movt: Finale (Vivace)

Product Description

Clementi ~ Symphonies 1 & 3 / Overture In

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute gem July 8 2002
By Ryan Richards - Published on
Being a big fan of the Clementi piano sonatinas (just about the only pieces I can play on the piano anymore), I was delighted when I stumbled across this CD. Even with the high expectations I had, it blew me away. These symphonies sound very much like Mozart (or, more accurately, Haydn), but their grand scoring and taut, muscular power (greatly enhanced by the use of winds, particularly the three trombones who solo in the Finale of the Third Symphony) sound much more reminiscent of Beethoven and beyond. Although these symphonies aren't nearly as inspired melodically or structurally as any of the great works by the aforementioned composers, there's still a lot to like here: heroic themes, rich development and a particular mastery of counterpoint (with something like a mini-fugue occurring at the end of the Overture). Overall, this music sounds way too grandiose to fit with the humble image of Clementi I developed while playing those sonatinas. It came out of nowhere and pleasantly surprised me, providing a fascinating look at the metamorphosis of the symphony between the Classical and Romantic eras. D'Avalos and The Philharmonia give a surprising performance as well, with a tightness and clarity (not to mention power) of sound that I would expect from a major orchestra. They search these symphonies through for every bit of life they can find, and then play it all out in a glorious, rich blaze of vigorous sound. These symphonies would be fascinating works as played by any orchestra, but the orchestral playing on this CD gives them the powerful, spacious grandeur they need to propel them firmly into musical noteworthiness, if not musical greatness. This CD contains music from both a dynamic time period and a masterful composer, neither of which get much exposure. When D'Avalos and The Philharmonia expose them, it's enough to not only draw this music from the realm of obscurity, but to give it a place among the finest works of Classical music.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Save the Queen July 25 2011
By mama b - Published on
Verified Purchase
If God Save the Queen is a piece that stirs nationalism in you, this symphony is perfect.There are a multiple of arrangements in at least three movements of the Great National Symphony and each is lovelier than the last. Clementi's slightly different repeat, time and time again, of the familiar tune is both comforting and patriotic.