Symphonies has been added to your Cart

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 15.28
& FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.00. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express CA
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


Price: CDN$ 15.28 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
20 new from CDN$ 7.91 2 used from CDN$ 13.08

Product Details

  • Performer: Mallon Aradia Ensemble
  • Composer: Sammartini
  • Audio CD (Nov. 15 2005)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B000BK53D8
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #51,733 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Presto
2. Andante E Pianissimo
3. Presto Assai
4. Allegro
5. Allegro
6. Affettuoso
7. Allegro
8. Alla Breve
9. Andante Sempre Piano
10. Presto
11. Presto
12. Andante
13. Allegro Assai
14. Allegro
15. Grave
16. Presto
17. Allegrissimo
18. Andante E Affettuoso
19. Allegrissimo

Product Description

Sammartini: Six Symphonies J-C 4, 9, 16, 23, 36 & 62

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x983e7ee8) out of 5 stars 6 reviews
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9885d414) out of 5 stars A fine sample of Sammartini's many works Sept. 16 2011
By Amazon Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
According to the notes in this marvelous Naxos recording of the 18th century Italian composer, Giovanni Sammartini's six (6) very enjoyable symphonies, Sammartini was a very prolific composer writing many operas and symphonies. Although he was born in Milan and spent his entire life there, Sammartini must have had some exposure to the music of the day because these symphonies are splendid and are, to me, filled with the glories of 18th century musical compositions. They remind me a lot Of C.P.E. Bach's symphonies with driving fast movements along with melancholy, deeply felt slow movements.

The six (6) symphonies on this recording are splendidly played by the Aradia Ensemble on "original instruments" sounding really terrific. Kevin Mallon leads the Ensemble fabulously. I particularly enjoyed the symphonies in C minor and D minor--so dramatic with very touching slow movements. The recorded sound is great too.
17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x983a6f54) out of 5 stars Sammartini: relatively unknown, but shouldn't be April 10 2008
By Eric Peterson - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Nice upbeat and very lively symphonies from a relatively unknown composer. You won't be bored listening to this. If you have more than a passing interest in Baroque music, and want to hear something more than the usual Bach and Vivaldi, then you should get this.

I rated it 4 stars instead of 5, only because I wish this CD had been recorded by the Cappella Istropolitana. The first 3 tracks are also available on Italian Baroque Favorites (highly recommended)
which is recorded by the Cappella Istropolitana, and to me those tracks are more lively and crisp than on this CD.
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x98bdd3a8) out of 5 stars Aradia Ensemble Fabulous May 27 2014
By Rob - Published on
Verified Purchase
Aradia Ensemble is the finest sounding Chamber Orchestra out there. Beautiful performances, very rich acoustics. Never heard much of Sammartini before this, but loved it.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9885beac) out of 5 stars Five Stars Jan. 29 2015
By phil - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
a wonderful recording of a great composer
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x98bc4900) out of 5 stars If you love Baroque, you'll love this May 24 2014
By Jack - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
So...I am a Baroque lover and will listen to anything. In my quest to go beyond Bach, Scarlatti, and Vivaldi; I bumped into this artist who I had not previously experienced. I like his compositions. Without going into all the technical stuff about allegro's, adagio's and all other o's; it's simply nice background music for just about anything from a BBQ to driving along the interstate. I will buy more. Enjoy!.