Symphonies Nos. 2 & 3 has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by WonderBook-USA
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Ships from the US. Expected delivery 7-14 business days.Serving Millions of Book Lovers since 1980. Like New condition. Audio CD. Case Very Good. Quality guaranteed! In original artwork/packaging unless otherwise noted.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphonies Nos. 2 & 3

Price: CDN$ 14.70 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
26 new from CDN$ 9.36 10 used from CDN$ 7.96

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Nov. 16 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Nam
  • ASIN: B000675OJE
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #57,502 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. I.
2. II.
3. III.
4. IV.
5. I.
6. II.
7. III.

Product Description

Philip Glass has enjoyed a degree of popularity unusual among contemporary composers. A pupil of Nadia Boulanger, he was also influenced by the Indian sitar player Ravi Shankar and has won a reputation as an exponent of minimalism, based on the systematic

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.3 out of 5 stars 12 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovable June 2 2008
By David Saemann - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I am a late convert to the music of Philip Glass. I was skeptical of it for a long time. Then I heard the Metropolitan Opera broadcast of his opera Satyagraha, which I was surprised to find had solid musical values. The same is true of the current CD. I don't think Glass is Bartok or Prokofiev, but that's not the point. He certainly can be mentioned in the same breath as an earlier American master like Howard Hanson. Indeed the Second Symphony, despite its minimalism, has melodies and structures reminiscent of the symphonic masters of the middle of the last century. Glass has said that the writing of Honegger and Milhaud in symphonic form still offers avenues for exploration, and he gleefully picks up their torch in this work. Surprising for minimalism, it even has a real finale that's reminiscent of the first two symphonies of Charles Ives. I have read a published review of this album that calls both works "unrepentant minimalism." That simply isn't true. The Third Symphony, written for 19 string players, is a beautifully accomplished piece of music. At times, particularly in the second movement, it is reminiscent of Stravinsky's concertos for strings. And in the sonorities of the last movement, there is even an evocation (unintentional?) of Andrew Lloyd Webber's Phantom of the Opera. This is a very enjoyable disc, beautifully played and recorded.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very engrossing Aug. 7 2005
By Mr. Bill - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I have thoroughly enjoyed listening to sections 1 through 4 of symphony #3 several times in the day since I got this CD. These tracks are very engrossing and makes one think of the soundtrack from an adventure saga where there is a continuous rhythm of travel.

Symphony number 2 is less interesting to me but for the price the symphony #3 tracks are great.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Philip Glass Music, Symp 2 and 3 Jan. 12 2009
By Frank Gross III - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I thought the Philip Glass music I bought was very good Philip Glass. It wasn't as good as his Symp #8 but still very good. Glass gets better with age. However, if you are not adept at listening to modern classical that is "different" you might not like it. To myself, I am addicted!
36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glass Deepens With Two Dramatically Resonant Pieces April 22 2005
By Ed Uyeshima - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Along with his colleague John Adams, Philip Glass is the most familiar of the modern minimalists. Yet like Adams, Glass seems to be building a greater communicative sense with each new work I hear. These two symphonies were composed in the early nineties, and Naxos is now providing a 2003 recording of the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra led by the insightful Marin Alsop. This is the same group of artists that played the wonderful version of Adams' "Shaker Loops" this past year, and this recording of Glass' works equals that one for dramatic insight and virtuosic preciseness.

A strings-only piece, Symphony #3 (23:58) has four conventional movements which build in drama and texture. It contains many of Glass' signature sounds with mono-tonal melodies that spiral in larger and larger circles and chords that feel like they are beating down an urban thunderstorm of clandestine activity - jabbing, throbbing, chugging - as they do in the second movement. Yet the music reflects some of his most gentle work especially in the first and third movements. There is an unexpectedly beautiful violin solo in the middle of the third movement that runs initially counter to his quietly driving sequential style until they eventually meld together. The drama turns fiery in the last movement as it broadens into an exciting albeit measured gallop, at the same time not sacrificing the virtuosity of the expert playing by the Bournemouth string section.

Symphony #2 (43:14) is a larger scale piece that makes dramatic sense to be played after the third, as it is a more ambitious work. It slowly builds in intensity with very broad strokes that deepen and darken when it comes to the bass-lines and the repetitive use of contrasting woodwinds. There is a vividly harrowing sense of adventure to the first movement that this section would not be inappropriate to be used as background movie music for a daring escape aboard a hot air balloon crossing the Alps. There is more of an orchestral sense to the second movement and an increasing ambiguity in tone that heightens the drama considerably with yet a new set of pronounced textures. The finale has almost a battle-cry exuberance but with a swooping, sinuous dramatic power with the addition of brass and even bells to the strings and woodwinds. The last movement truly feels like the culmination of what Glass has presented before in both symphonies.

Beautifully recorded at "The Concert Hall, Lighthouse, Poole" in Dorset, UK, this recording verifies that Glass' oeuvre is more than his famous operas often in collaboration with Robert Wilson. Producer-engineer Tim Handley has done an excellent job of keeping the impeccable sound in check throughout. And like the Adams recording, this one sells for the ridiculously bargain basement price of $6.98. Strongly recommended.
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want a Modern Symphony look here Oct. 14 2009
By Classics Explorer - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Glass is not Mozart. But if you like Mozart, you probably will like these symphonies of Glass. They have a lot of wind parts for symphony 2. And symphony 3 is unique. Some like classical music for the feelings they carry thru music, and what can you 'feel' thru Glass's music? Strokes of strength on the strings, danger, peril, and victory. The one thing he and Mozart both have in common is that they both did that, albeit in different ways. Glass does his own thing, this is modern stuff that sounds almost akin to what you might hear in a movie. It's a nice change of pace if you ever get burned out on Mozart, or Beethoven or any other 18th century composer.