Symphonies Nos 2 & 4 has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphonies Nos 2 & 4

Price: CDN$ 15.09 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 7.08 4 used from CDN$ 7.07

Product Details

  • Performer: Tchaikovsky So, Fedoseyev
  • Composer: Pavlova
  • Audio CD (Oct. 18 2005)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B000B6N68Q
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #347,745 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. First Movement
2. Second Movement
3. Third Movement
4. Fourth Movement
5. Symphony No.4 - Yaroslav Krasnikov

Product Description

Symphonie n° 2 pour le nouveau millénium (Rév. 2006) - Symphonie n° 4 / Georgy Khachikyan, orgue - Orchestre Symphonique Tchaïkovski de la Radio de Moscou, dir. Vladimir Fedosseïev

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9b0575c4) out of 5 stars 1 review
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b046078) out of 5 stars Wonderful discovery June 30 2008
By Malcolm Glass - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I discovered Alla Pavlova on Radioio. If you don't know this web station, you must check it out. I make discoveries of little known serious music daily on Radioio. And Pavlova is the most exciting find yet. Her music is gorgeous, heartfelt, accessible. She is a true Russian (Ukrainian, to be exact) in the sense that her works are full of emotion, passion, melancholy. She is clearly in the Rachmaninoff tradition. That is a compliment; to my mind Rachmaninoff is the epitome of Russian orchestral music. What better tradition could there be for her? But I say she is "in the tradition," for she is by no means an imitator of anyone that I can discern. She is very much her own woman. She is innovative and daring, complex and subtle, without ever using any of the current cliches and mannerisms of the famous in-their-heads prize-winners. Pavlova is in a class, indeed, it would seem, a world, of her own. Yet it is the world we all truly inhabit, the world of the physical, emotional, and spiritual bodies, as well as the mental.

As far as I know, her Symphony No. 4, on this disc, is the only true organ symphony in the literature. (I could be wrong, so let me know if I am.)

Sure, there's Saint-Saens and the exuberant finale to the 3rd, but Pavlova begins her symphony with the organ, and the instrument is integral to the work start to finish. This is a unique contribution to classical music, as far as I know. I ordered this CD because it has the lovely 2nd Symphony I heard on Radioio. What a powerful piece it is. And straightaway I came back to Amazon and ordered all of Pavlova's recordings. Thanks, Naxos!

Look for similar items by category