Symphonies Nos. 2 & 4 has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphonies Nos. 2 & 4

Price: CDN$ 15.71 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
21 new from CDN$ 8.02 3 used from CDN$ 24.60
Daily Deals

Product Details

  • Performer: Sanderling; Novosibirsk Academic Symphony Orchestra
  • Composer: Taneyev Sergey Ivanovich
  • Audio CD (April 27 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #193,846 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Known to Tchaikovsky as the 'Russian Brahms' and to Rachmaninov as 'a master composer a pinnacle of musical Moscow', Sergey Taneyev was one of the most highly regarded and influential musical figures of his time. His unfinished Symphony No. 2, begun

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 3.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An acquired taste June 23 2011
By Newton Ooi - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Sergei Taneyev composed music at the height of Russian Romanticism; i.e. in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Straddling both the international school led by his friend Tchaikovsky, and the nationalist school of the Mighty Five, Taneyev is not as famous as many of his Russian contemparories. Part of this was his was probably his small catalogue of works, which includes 4 completed symphonies. This Naxos release features two of his symphonies. The sound quality is good, as is the music itself. However, the music lacks the sheer orchestral brilliance of contemparory works by the likes of Rimsky-Korsakov or Tchaikovsky, or the lyrical beauty of symphonies by Glazunov or Borodin. And neither of the works on either album features that catchy tune that can stick in your head like say the finales from Beethoven's or Dvorak's 9th symphonies. Overall, ok works by a respectable, but not a great composer of classical music.

Look for similar items by category