CDN$ 35.75 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by @ ALLBRIGHT SALES @
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 35.74
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: Vanderbilt CA
Add to Cart
CDN$ 37.61
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: thebookcommunity_ca
Add to Cart
CDN$ 39.40
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: vs_music
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphony 39 / Clarinet Cto / Nachtmusik Import

Price: CDN$ 35.75
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by @ ALLBRIGHT SALES @.
4 new from CDN$ 35.74 5 used from CDN$ 0.01
Daily Deals

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 8 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Angel Records
  • ASIN: B000002SSX
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Le Nozze Di Figao, K.492: Ov
2. Ser No.13 'Eine Kleine Nachtmusik' in G, K.525: I. Allegro
3. Ser No.13 'Eine Kleine Nachtmusik' in G, K.525: II. Romanza (Andante)
4. Ser No.13 'Eine Kleine Nachtmusik' in G, K.525: III. Menuetto (Allegretto) & Trio
5. Ser No.13 'Eine Kleine Nachtmusik' in G, K.525: IV. Rondo (Allegro)
6. Cl Con in A, K.622: I. Allegro - Leopold Wlach
7. Cl Con in A, K.622: II. Adagio - Leopold Wlach
8. Cl Con in A, K.622: III. Rondo (Allegro) - Leopold Wlach
9. Sym No.39 in E flat, K.543: I. Adagio-Allegro
10. Sym No.39 in E flat, K.543: II. Andante Con Moto
11. Sym No.39 in E flat, K.543: III. Menuetto (Allegretto) & Trio
12. Sym No.39 in E flat, K.543: IV. Finale (Allegro)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the Beginning June 7 2011
By Bernard Michael O'Hanlon - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Other than his recording of Cosi Fan Tutte and Zauberflote (EMI) Karajan was never hailed as a Mozartian (note: this is the majority view, not mine). He was also accused of being 'Soup-Meister' towards the end of his career, much to the detriment of composers such as Mozart who underwent 'Tchaikovksy-isation' at his hands - or so it is claimed.

However factual this might be, few would deny that his early music-making was extraordinarily vivid - Das Wunder Karajan - and this CD is a prime example. It was recorded before Furtwangler smoked him out of the Vienna Philharmonic - one of the few times where Herbie was slow on the draw. The E Flat symphony is spontaneity itself - one can understand why Legge contracted the ex-Nazi on the spot with little regard for his Nemesis. It is white-hot with energy. Herbie's later performance of K 543 Mozart: Symphonies Nos. 39, 40, 41; Eine Kleine Nachtmusik; Serenata notturna) is a world-beater but this earlier recording is even more incisive. It has the momentum of a freight train. It's lucid and lucent.

Karajan later recorded the Clarinet Concerto with Karl Leister on EMI in 1971; it's tepid compared with this version but neither is a first choice. The Nachtmusic and the Figaro Overtures are both worthy renditions. In post-war Vienna, it was earn hard currency or starve: the Vienna Philharmonic are clearly out to impress their British paymasters. Walter Legge's artistry ensures that the recording, old though it be, is listenable and the Abbey Road remastering has optimised the sound.

Overall, this is a fine CD. But only the Symphony is ex cathedra.