4 used & new from CDN$ 54.35

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphony 5 Import

Available from these sellers.
1 new from CDN$ 129.57 3 used from CDN$ 54.35

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Dec 27 1994)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Biddulph Records
  • ASIN: B000009KXV
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xb1a2abf4) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xb2426354) out of 5 stars A great cross-section of Stock Sept. 26 2004
By Dr. Paul R. Terry - Published on Amazon.com
This collection contains so many excellent recordings that I hardly know where to start! However, first-time buyers should be aware that the recorded quality is not comparable to modern technology, hence I have given it 4 stars overall. The performances are very strong and flexible, for example Zarathustra (only the second version ever made, I think). Tchaik 5 is cut in the last movement (as many conductors used to do in those days). The short pieces are all well-judged, and give an idea of Stock's great range of sympathies. His own Waltz is like Ravel's La Valse, quite sinister.

It's sad that this set is no longer available. I would be happy to swap copies for other CD's of Stock, for example the Chausson Symphony. If interested, please contact me on prterry@terrt.fsnet.co.uk
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xb1ab4198) out of 5 stars some secondrated transfers, but also some unedidet! Feb. 8 2015
By - Joachim Wagner - - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
First: all performances are very good and the issue reminds an interesting aspect to the history of the CSO: this orchestra has been something special long BEFORE Kubelik and Reiner. But the transfers made by Obert-Thorn for the label Biddulph biddulph are a little bit disappointing - a rather agressive sound lacking all smooth and round. There aexist from some records better analog-digital transfers (Brahms Hungarian Dances, Tchaikowsky 5th, Walton Scarpino Ouverture, Glasunov a.o.), but there is no one of the first Strauss Zarathustra by CSO, the Dohnanyi Suite, Wagner Meistersinger Ouverture and the fine Walz of Stock himself.
So there is a reason to buy this double-CD :-)

I am dreaming of a Frederick Stock Box by Sony - also the pre-CSO recordings of Reiner and the rest of the RCA / Columbia recordings with CSO before Solti (Rodzinski, Defauw, Gould, Ozawa, Stokowsky, Hendl, Craft, Stravinsky). Of course the Kubelik / Dorati Mercury recordings and some more of the Live tapes! Hoffman, Martinon, Kubelik, Dorati a.o.