CDN$ 23.79 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 32.69
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Add to Cart
CDN$ 39.19
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: MidwestMediaOverstock
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphony 9 / Symphony 33: Karajan Edition Import

Price: CDN$ 23.79
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
6 new from CDN$ 13.63 6 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 27 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: EMI Classics Imports
  • ASIN: B000002SSY
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Three German Dances, K.605: No.3 in C
2. Six German Dances, K.600: No.5 in G
3. Sym No.33 In B flat, K.319
4. Sym No.33 In B flat, K.319
5. Sym No.33 In B flat, K.319
6. Sym No.33 In B flat, K.319
7. Sym No.9 in C, D.944 'The Great'
8. Sym No.9 in C, D.944 'The Great'
9. Sym No.9 in C, D.944 'The Great'
10. Sym No.9 in C, D.944 'The Great'

Product Description

Mozart: Symphony No. 33; German Dances / Schubert: Symphony No. 9 - The Great (1946 recordings)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa7f6954c) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa82c70b4) out of 5 stars Joy comes out of hiding in postwar Vienna Nov. 30 2005
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on
Verified Purchase
The English record producer who discovered Karajan after WW II, Walter Legge, got into Vienna by chance, thanks to an American army officer he met in a bar. The officer gave him a pass into the occupied city, and Legge found Karajan sharing a small aprtment with four other people, all living on bare subsistence. Within a few days Legge had signed up Karajan on the strength of his pre-war reputation. These recordings of Mozart and Schubert from 1946 were among the first signs of Vienna's revival.

On that acocunt they are inspiring performances, despite the ragged, boxy sound. Everything is listenable, however, and what we hear is actually Karajan's most unaffected performances of both the Mozart Sym. 33 and the Schubert Ninth. He felt an affinity for the Ninth in particular, and one almost hears him throwing down the gauntlet to Furtwangler. Furtwangler's famous Ninths from the early Fifties, both live and in the studio, are romantically expressive, big-boned, and important. By comparison, Karajan keeps a steady tempo, inflects phrases lightly, and asks for cleaner, more precise ensemble than Frutwangler generally cared about.

The orchestra must still have been shellshocked, but they play very well under the circumstances.The result is "modern" Schubert, a style that would sweep the musical world as Furtwangler's star faded (not to shine again until the Seventies), while Karajan's star shot to the top. Karajan has been seen as an interloper, but German musicmaking was ready to change, and the joy of these performances shows how healthy that change would be.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa82b35e8) out of 5 stars Karajan's Early Mozart & Schubert May 2 2005
By Michael Brad Richman - Published on
This CD from EMI's "Karajan Edition" series features the great conductor with the Vienna Philharmonic in 1946 mono recordings of Schubert's 9th Symphony, and Mozart's 33rd Symphony along with two German Dances. The featured item is undoubtedly the "Great," receiving its first release on CD here. The performances overall are good but of course the poor, historical sound leaves a lot to be desired. Karajan recorded these works again in stereo for EMI in the 1970s with the Berlin Philharmonic (see my reviews), and those titles are definitely preferable. But with that being said, Herbie was never at his best with either of these composers and both this disc and the stereo remakes should be seriously considered only by the conductor's most avid followers. Most classical listeners will be better served by Karl Bohm in this repertoire.