Symphony No. 2 - Ocean has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphony No. 2 - Ocean

Price: CDN$ 14.96 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
20 new from CDN$ 6.80 3 used from CDN$ 6.79

Product Details

  • Composer: Rubinstein
  • Audio CD (Oct. 1 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B00005NUOQ
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #184,971 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Sym No.2 in C, Op.42 'Ocean': Moderato Asaai
2. Sym No.2 in C, Op.42 'Ocean': Lento Assai
3. Sym No.2 in C, Op.42 'Ocean': Andante
4. Sym No.2 in C, Op.42 'Ocean': Allegro
5. Sym No.2 in C, Op.42 'Ocean': Andante
6. Sym No.2 in C, Op.42 'Ocean': Scherzo
7. Sym No.2 in C, Op.42 'Ocean': Andante

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa62b9450) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa5fd81e0) out of 5 stars oceanographer's dream Nov. 20 2004
By Mike Salkin - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The strings play the winds. The brass plays the storms. The woodwinds play the squalls. The percussion plays the low and high pressure areas. Why this is the stuff for a climatologist! This lengthy tone poem masquerading as a symphony is nicely orchestrated by Rubinstein and well played by the Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra.

Yes, some would derogatively say "C'est Rubinstein", but his music here is pleasant and "an evocative picture of the sea".
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa5fd8690) out of 5 stars It's not "La Mer" Jan. 22 2006
By David Arenson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
But few things are. This is a pleasant, Mendelssonian work by a second-rank Romantic composer who had a gift for melody. One can see how 19th century audiences might have been taken with Rubinstein's evocation of the sea, which is most pronounced in the first and second movements. Some movements, though, seem decidedly un-oceanlike, though they still entertain.

This is not a taut, thrilling ride across the seven seas; it's more like a pleasant afternoon rowing around the marina. Rubinstein does not demand enormous concentration from his listeners. Still, it is enjoyable on its own terms and can be easily recommended to fans of Romantic curiosities.

As to the performance, there is nothing to compare it to, though it seems decent enough. The work is deserving of more interpretations, given its 70-odd minutes of possibilities.