Symphony No.5 Hiroshima has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphony No.5 Hiroshima

Price: CDN$ 15.27 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 8.27 4 used from CDN$ 8.18

Product Details

  • Performer: Yuasa New Japan Po
  • Composer: Ohki
  • Audio CD (Oct. 31 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B000I2IUUC
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #297,813 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Japanese Rhapsody
2. Prelude
3. Ghosts - It Was A Procession Of Ghosts
4. Fire - Next Moment Fire Burst Into Flames
5. Water - People Wandered Around Seeking Water
6. Rainbow - All Of A Sudden Black Rain Poured Over Them And Then Appeared A Beautiful Rainbow
7. Boys And Girls - Boys ANd Girls Died Without Knowing Any Joy Of Human Life And Calling For Their Parents
8. Atomic Desert - Boundless Desert With Skulls
9. Elegy

Product Description

Masao Ohki' Symphony No. 5, introduced to world-wide audiences by Arvid Jansons and Leopold Stokowski, was one of the first of many Japanese works to be dedicated to the tragedy of the atomic bombing of Hiroshima in August 1945. Based on six paintings by

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa05924a4) out of 5 stars 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0463a98) out of 5 stars Arresting Hiroshima Symphony plus a nationalist occasional piece March 31 2008
By Art and Music Guy - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Ohki's Hiroshima Symphony is not particularly tuneful, so if you're interested in Japanese early 20th C. neo-Romanticism, only the first item on the CD will please you. In fact,the disparity of styles between the Rhapsody and the Symphony was shocking, but Ohki's nationalistic Rhapsody reminded me of the last movement of Shostakovich's 5th Symphony--its extrovert bombast has appeal when one is in such a mood. But the Hiroshima Symphony, being partly based on music for traditional Japanese theater is inherently more static and also more to the core of Ohki's character. The usual Naxos liner notes provide good biography of Ohki, and unlike official blurb releases,the full notes mention several times Ohki's equation of America and imperialism. His music should be explored more, if only to understand the context of what the notes hint at, and what his abstract and affecting music says. Perhaps we are far enough removed from the events that his Hiroshima Symphony may fail to shock as it apparently once had, but with the movements' subtitles, there can be no mistaking the brutality and poignancy that his expressionistic music was aiming to achieve. So I feel I ended up buying this for its historical value and I enjoyed it for its ability to parse its historical milieu with a matching technique.

Look for similar items by category