Symphony No. 6 has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphony No. 6 Import

Price: CDN$ 23.78 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
14 new from CDN$ 17.83
Daily Deals

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Nov. 6 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Mdg
  • ASIN: B000W32V66
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Andantino - Vivace - Allegretto
2. Allegro Moderato - Commodo
3. Andantino - Animato - Adagio - Moderato - Andante
4. Intermezzo. Larghetto
5. Vivace Con Moto - Larghetto

Product Description

Symphony 6

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 3.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maintains Silvestrov's usual concerns, but something of a step forward May 12 2015
By Christopher Culver - Published on
By the early 1980s, after an early career as a serialist and a long hiatus, Valentin Silvestrov had developed a highly individual style. The Ukrainian composer was doubtful about the ability to create new music in this day and age, seeking instead to write "postludes" to the Romantic era, the last common language of Western music. These works feature a perpetual succession of melodies, but without any direction, while the lush tonality is undermined by Webern-like jumps of minor seconds and major sevenths. The composer's Fifth Symphony was an important culmination in this style.

The Symphony No. 6 (1994-95, rev. 2002) has sometimes been called an unimaginative retread of the Fifth, but I don't think that's fair. True, Silvestrov's stylistic concerns have not changed all that much; we continue to find a nostalgia for a common musical heritage and there's no development towards any hitherto unheard goal. In form, however, the Sixth shows Silvestrov exploring new territory. Unlike the long single-movement works of the 1980s, the composer has cast this symphony in five movements with a symmetrical shape.

The first movement opens, like all late Silvestrov, with a dissonant chord. But where Silvestrov was previously keen on launching into melodies straightaway, the music here wanders for a long time through this mist of unstable harmonies. The music is sparse, unsteady, almost as if Silvestrov were following Schnittke's turn to a grim, ghostly pace. Things find some steady ground in the second movement, but not too much. The third movement is the longest of all, making up nearly half of this 55-minute work. It opens as a lush, poignant meditation that has often been compared to the famous "Adagietto" of Mahler's Fifth, though this has its stormy movements. It is only with the third movement that comparisons to Silvestrov's previous symphony seem appropriate. The short fourth movement reduces the coherence somewhat, while the last movement returns the piece to the sparse textures of the beginning.

Silvestrov's Symphony No. 6 is not, I would say, an especially great work. I have great reservations about most of this composer's output. But for fans of the composer, it does show a progression of sorts and is worth hearing. Two recordings are presently available, this MDG disc where Roman Kofman leads the Beethoven Orchester Bonn, and an ECM disc with Andrey Boreyko conducting the SWR Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra. It's hard to decide which is the better one -- this MDG disc is a hybrid SACD with pristine sound and 5.1 surround audio, while the ECM recording is in mere stereo and occasionally has the noise of pages being flipped. Still, the ECM presents the symphony well and the tiny imperfections somehow work with Silvestrov's poignant style, looking back to a vanished, lower-fi age.

Look for similar items by category