CDN$ 29.99 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 2 left in stock. Sold by Melisande Musique

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 31.70
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: langton_distribution
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Telemann: Overtures, Sonatas, Concertos Import

Price: CDN$ 29.99
Only 2 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Melisande Musique.
2 new from CDN$ 29.99 2 used from CDN$ 14.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 27 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: MD&G Records
  • ASIN: B0001ZWKQG
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Largo
2. Allegro
3. Andante
4. Presto
5. Largo
6. Allegro
7. Grave
8. Allegro
9. Adagio
10. Allegro
11. Largo
12. Presto
13. Lento
14. Allegro
15. Largo
16. Allegro
17. Ouverture
18. Gavotte
19. Loure
20. Rejouissance
See all 23 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa3684264) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa029dfd8) out of 5 stars 1st rate Telemann, excellent, warm sound Feb. 11 2006
By E. Weed - Published on
Format: Audio CD
It is a fair criticism of some period instrument recordings that the strings sound "edgy" or overly bright. Much as I enjoy Musica Antiqua Koln, for example, I don't think their sound, as represented by their recordings, is as flattering, or pleasant, as they sound live. It is indeed bright, and on the wrong hi-fi, edgy and wearing.

The German label MDG has been getting good press for their recording quality, and this recording is a great example of why that is so. It is one of the warmest and richest recordings of a period instrument group that I have heard. Happily, that group, Musica Alta Ripa, is first rate. It is a small ensemble--there are 11 players on this record, including a wonderful bassoon "guest" artist, and they utilize not only a harpsichord, but a theorbo or baroque guitar in the continuo part.

And how can you go wrong with Telemann? Most of this disc consists of music for strings (pleasantly interrupted by a concerto for recorder, bassoon and strings). It is as good a cross-section of Telemann's work as this listener has encountered, with the possible exception of the best of Telemann's Tafelmusic.

Strongly recommended, especially for listeners who have been disappointed by period performances in the past.
HASH(0xa029e4a4) out of 5 stars Great music, beautifully played July 14 2012
By Sid Nuncius - Published on
Format: Audio CD
All five volumes in this series are excellent. Telemann produced a huge amount of music in his long life which has led some people to believe that it is bland Baroque wallpaper. I disagree - there is real depth and interest in much of Telemann's music and Rob Cowan's assertion that he is a great composer waiting to be discovered seems right on the mark to me. The music is often delightful and charming but there is a great variety of mood and style here and it also repays careful listening.

Musica Alta Ripa play it wonderfully. They are a small chamber ensemble with a core group of musicians and extra instrumentalists where needed. They are uniformly excellent with a terrific sense of togetherness and delight in the music and also some amazing individual virtuosity. They bring out not only the charm and amiability of Telemann, but also his profundity and genuine emotion in places.

The recorded sound is excellent, the notes interesting and the packaging attractive. This series of five CDs is a treasure trove of great Baroque music, beautifully played and I recommend it very warmly.