Temptation Showtime Serie... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by marvelio-ca
Condition: Used: Like New
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Temptation Showtime Series Californication Compilation, Soundtrack

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 25.79 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
25 new from CDN$ 17.59 5 used from CDN$ 16.95

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 17 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Compilation, Soundtrack
  • Label: Universal Music Canada
  • ASIN: B0018Q7K3U
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #31,602 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. You Can't Always Get What You Want - The Rolling Stones
2. Mojo - Peeping Tom
3. Rocket Man - My Morning Jacket
4. L.A. Woman (Paul Oakenfold Remix) - The Doors / Paul Oakenfold
5. Light Of Day - Tommy Stinson
6. If You See Her, Say Hello - Bob Dylan
7. Little Round Mirrors - Harvey Danger
8. Don't Let Us Get Sick - Madeleine Martin
9. Paranoid - Gus Black
10. A Girl Like You - Mexican Institute Of Sound
11. Mohammed's Radio - Warren Zevon
12. Surrender - Madeleine Martin
13. That Kind Of Man - The Heavy
14. Keep On - Champion
15. Reconsider Me - Steve Earle
16. Only Women Bleed - Madeleine Martin
17. High Flying Bird - Elton John
18. You Can't Always Get What You Want - Tommy Stinson & Friends For Done To Death
19. Hank's Theme - Tyler Bates & Tree Adams
20. Main Title Theme From Californication - Tyler Bates & Tree Adams

Product Description

Nine tracks of music from Californication is a Showtime 12-part series production created by Tom Kapinos and starring David Duchovny as Hank Moody, a troubled novelist whose move to LA and problems with his job complicate the relationships with his ex-girlfriend Karen (Natascha McElhone) and daughter Becca (Madeleine Martin).Songs featured are from The Rolling Stones, Peeping Tom, My Morning Jacket and The Doors plus several songs from the series. The show was renewed for a second season on September 7, 2007. The season one finale, titled "The Last Waltz", originally aired on Showtime on October 29, 2007. Season 2 began filming in April, 2008. The premiere of season two of Californication is tentatively slated for summer 2008. The entire first season released on DVD in June 2008.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
It's nice that they included some of Beccas songs
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9a03a8c4) out of 5 stars 9 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99772c90) out of 5 stars Sounded better when previewed through Amazon Jan. 16 2013
By WorldTravelr - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I am a fan of Californication and the haunting sort of uplifting but depressing music that is played in the background ... especially the moody (no pun intended) cover songs of well known tunes such as Rocketman. I bought this CD for a trip to California. Put the top down on the convertible of the rental and let it blare. I was a bit dissapointed with the quality of the audio ... it seems like it was done on the cheap (as does the almost clipart looking artwork on the cover). I felt like I expected much better tones when I heard it on preview. The actual CD sounds like one of those guys who comes up to you in Times Square or Venice Beach with a set of headphones and tries to get you to listen to the CD they burned from their computer.

I do like some of the songs ... others are plain terrible. There is an odd flow to the album that doesn't quite work. This is a better CD for building a song library. It wasn't cheap but is hard to find. This CD is the quintessential one because you get not only the theme show for the song (and the theme from the DVD menu oddly enough) ... but you get some of the best original tracks from the Stones. They also offer the beautiful haunting cover of "Rocketman' which is almost worth it just for that. Elton John's song is also pretty sweet. Not sure why they put both the Stones' 'Can't Always Get What You Want' and a similar sounding cover band's version of the song on the disc. I think it sounds like the cover band is trying to copy the Stones' version exactly and not trying to put their own spin on it.

There are some odd tracks which I try to figure out which episodes they played in but are not really anything I would listen to over and over. Overall, I am glad I was able to play this album while cruising down the Malibu coast in a convertible like Hank Moody. However, in terms of listening to this disc straight through on my home audio system. Probably not going to happen. A pretty cool complilation for the true Californication fan with some pretty unique covers. Could do without the Madiline Martin covers ... those I skip. It's cool to have the theme song and the DVD menu song but I'd rather have had a couple more 'real' songs in place of those riffs.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99772eb8) out of 5 stars Brilliant music for a brilliant show!! Jan. 13 2010
By A. Lee - Published on Amazon.com
I love this show, great writing and acting but honestly it just wouldn't have the same vibe without the music. Perfect, just perfect I couldnt have picked a better set of songs to accompany this uniquely ambiguous show.
SOme of my faves: Rocket Man, You Can't Always Get What You Want, Light of DAy and Surrender.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99772f9c) out of 5 stars Love the series, Love the music June 29 2008
By Donna Loux Dba Vintage - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
You'll flash back to the scenes while listening to the songs that played in the background. Includes two of the songs sung by Madeleine Martin (Becca) during the last season. You'll smile, and you'll shake your head. That darn Hank Moody anyway.
HASH(0x99775468) out of 5 stars Not Trite, Yet Still Moody June 1 2009
By D. M. Koehler - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
When watching the show and then revisiting the music afterward, it's like seeing all the memorable parts all over again... only in my HEAD... Becca (Madeleine Martin) does a great job on three of the tracks on the album, my favorite being the ever-popular "Surrender".

A few headliners: My Morning Jacket, Warren Zevon, Bob Dylan, The Doors (remixed), and Elton John head up some of the albums more well-known tracks. Along with the infamously-memorable Mexican Institute of Sound track from Charlie's nipple incident (the "boo-boo-ca-ca-boo-chee-doo" will be stuck in your head for hours after hearing it).

The only drawback is that some of the music from the show that I didn't find on the album contained some of my favorite memorable moments from the show. Minor inconvenience. Not a big deal.

All in all, a quality soundtrack for fans of the show.
HASH(0x9977569c) out of 5 stars Great Music May 18 2011
By Laura A. DelGardo - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Great music from an awesome show. Looking forward to purchasing the soundtrack to the rest of the Californication seasons.