Tenacious D In The Pick O... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by wobcanada
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: *** Please check Region before ordering *** - The item remains in its sealed packaging. The case and any inserts will show no sign of wear.
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 17.07
& FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.00. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express CA
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Tenacious D In The Pick Of Destiny Soundtrack, Explicit Lyrics

4.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 9.91 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
40 new from CDN$ 5.18 17 used from CDN$ 2.20
Daily Deals

Frequently Bought Together

  • Tenacious D In The Pick Of Destiny
  • +
  • Tenacious D
  • +
  • Rize of the Fenix
Total price: CDN$ 34.88
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Nov. 14 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics, Soundtrack
  • Label: Sony Music
  • Run Time: 93 minutes
  • ASIN: B000IOM1RI
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,432 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Kickapoo
2. Classico
3. Baby
4. Destiny
5. History
6. The Government Totally Sucks
7. Master Exploder
8. The Divide
9. Papagenu (He's My Sassafrass)
10. Dude (I Totally Miss You)
11. Break In-City (Storm the Gate!)
12. Car Chase City
13. Beelzeboss (The Final Showdown)
14. POD
15. The Metal

Product Description

Product Description

The time draws near when the titans of rock will give rise to the mother of all soundtracks, an album that will become the center of the sonic solar system, the album that is The Pick Of Destiny. Jack Black and Kyle Glass, those gods of rock that together form the power-metal duo Tenacious D, have achieved the greatest album of all time - a history-making, world-shaking soundtrack that will rock your very soul. One can expect nothing but hell-fire rocking from a team that has worked with president Satan as their film's executive producer on the New Line cinema film ''Tenacious D in the Pick Of Destiny'' starring Jack & Kyle. If the D's 2001 eponymous debut sold nearly 2 million albums worldwide & is platinum in the US, the greatest record ever created must surely exceed these numbers by about a gazillion. Explicit version has a 3D cover. 15 brand new songs along with dialog from the movie.


Like Spinal Tap, the Rutles, and even the Bonzo Dog Band, Tenacious D manage to send up rock conventions while employing them expertly. The soundtrack to their first full-length motion picture mixes songs and bits from the movie, but it plays like a hilarious concept album more than anything. Dave Grohl and (one half of the) Dust Brothers--who played on the D's delicious 2001 debut--are here joined by Meat Loaf and Ronnie James Dio. The title song navigates power balladry from the late '80s and early '90s in ways most awesome, while also throwing in a bridge that rips on faux-mystical elf-progisms of '70s stadium rock. At times the songs get a bit too meta (e.g. "He who is groovy must be in my movie"), but quibbling about self-referentiality when it comes to a fake band that calls itself "The Greatest Band on Earth" and who sings that their movie is "better than-uh Citizen Kane-uh" is perhaps to not have much of a sense of humor. --Mike McGonigal

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By LeBrain HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWER on Oct. 18 2009
Format: Audio CD
That title for this review is a joke, by the way. Sort of.

What I mean by that, and what threw me when I first heard the CD, is that the Tenacious D movie is presented somewhat as a musical, with some dialogue being sung. So when you first hear this CD, "Kickapoo" in particular, if you haven't seen the movie already you'll think the D has smoked too much weed!

So, by all means, see the movie first, then pick up the CD. Otherwise you won't enjoy it at all. Some people I know were expecting The Pick Of Destiny soundtrack album to be another funny collection of songs with skits mixed in. It's not a sequel to the first album at all, this is a soundtrack and has to be listened to as such.

Most songs here are winners: Great musically and funny lyrically. "Baby" is a waste of time, as is "The Government Totally Sucks". However there are some songs on here that blow away new releases by most metal bands!

"Kickapoo" -- featuring guests Meatloaf and Ronnie James Dio -- is outstanding. You'll be singing along within minutes, but please, not in front of mom!

"Break In-City (Storm the Gate!)-- a personal fave. In a way it's even better without the visuals from the movie. Probably one of the best tunes here. You'll be wanting to storm the gates too.

"Beelzeboss (The Final Showdown)" -- simply outstanding musically. You will have every lyric memorized too. Dave Grohl shreds on vocals in a voice I've never heard him use before. Best tune on the album.

"The Metal" -- an extra from the end credits, this is simply hilarious.

But seriously, almost all of the other songs are great too. Tenacious D write great songs, believe it or not!

Four stars. Totally listenable.
2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Well it's been a while since the D made any new music so it's nice to see some new material. This album isn't as good as their first but that's a little to be expected since it's a soundtrack and the songs are made to fit the movie. There are some really great songs with classic D harmony and some wicked guitaring but unfortunately there's also a few really bad tunes too. If your a fan of the band though, definately get this album, you won't regret it.
2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
one of the greatest albums of all time 11/10 great vocals and all in all its a masterpiece came in perfect condition
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse