Ivan the Terrible: Concer... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ivan the Terrible: Concert Sce Blu-specCD

Price: CDN$ 16.53 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
21 new from CDN$ 6.28 1 used from CDN$ 25.16

Product Details

  • Performer: Finnie; Storojev; Philharmonia Chorus & Orchestra; Jarvi
  • Composer: Prokofiev
  • Audio CD (Aug. 4 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Blu-specCD
  • Label: Chn
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #132,618 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Linda Finnie, contralto - Nikita Storojev, basse - Philharmonia Chorus - Philharmonia Orchestra - Neeme Järvi, direction

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 2.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't stomach the tempi... June 27 2010
By J. Takis - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
First, a few kind words. This is a well-recorded, competently performed album. The source material is very strong, of course -- Prokofiev's "Ivan The Terrible" is a powerhouse of a score in any incarnation. Christopher Palmer's restructuring of the material as a "concert scenario" is mostly an improvement, in my opinion, over the "oratorio-with-narration" form. I largely approve of his choices of what to trim, what to expand, and how to sequence it. I do wish the extended final coda heard in many recordings of the Stasevich arrangement had been retained, but that's a relatively minor complaint.

A more serious problem for me is the tempi. The album as a whole seems out of balance. I can sort of stomach the breakneck "Overture" ... but the deathly slow pace of "Murder in the Cathedral" is just excruciating. It sounds like it's at least HALF the original tempo, transforming an inexorable, doom-laden piece into something plodding and ineffectual. This is a key cue, the dramatic climax of the score -- to restore it at full-length to the concert adaptation is a VERY good idea, and had the potential to really elevate this recording. But to miss the mark so badly in execution drags down my rating of the total package into "dislike" territory. I've had issues with Jarvi's tempi before (his reading of Prokofiev's the "Stone Flower" in suite form, for example, seems sluggish to my ears), but this just killed it for me.

So if you're looking for a good concert version of Prokofiev's "Ivan" sans narrator, I regret that I can't recommend this one. Instead, I heartily endorse Slatkin's tremendous recording with the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, which used to be available on Vox as a 2-CD set including the "Alexander Nevsky" cantada and the "Lt. Kije" suite. For the full, restored film score, I'm partial to the Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra version conducted by Fedoseyev, available on Nimbus.

Look for similar items by category