countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle sports tools

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 8, 2011
Now, what this is, is a catalog (duh!) that in it's first half aims to list everything officially licensed by FOX, such as episodes, comics, scripts etc etc, also including licensed print media such as posters, trading cards, etc etc. However, non-print collectibles, for example, action figures, plates, are not included(I'd love for there to be a complete catalog of those one day).

The second half of the book has unlicensed material listed, such a fan art, fanfiction, essays, articles, etc etc, but doesn't aim to be complete.

For example, all Buffy & Angel episodes are listed, while the official trailers for these episodes are summarized (if that's the appropriate word to use) where Macnaughtan speaks of the trailers that exist (that they can often be found online, that TV spots were "produced in 12, 22 and 32 seconds versions"(p.31) ).

As mentioned above, it's divided in two parts, licensed and unlicensed. Have a look at the table of contents.
Page 1 [...]
Page 2 [...]

Section 1-14, 17, 19, and 23 are complete, while section 15, 16, 18, 20-22 have selections and summarizations.

Now, I didn't read all sections religiously, I skimmed through some and didn't double-check. For example, I didn't check that he had all the names of the writers and directors right in the episode section. However, I did go through section 2c, 2d, 7b-d, 11b, 21, 22 more thoroughly.

I did see some errors, or things I personally would have written differently (re-named some titles to clarify which lists were meant to be complete and which just showed selections of materials). But what troubles me more is that he didn't write that there was a difference between trade paperbacks and hardcovers in the comics section (he just wrote trade paperbacks) since some arc/mini-series/series, for example Angel after the fall vol. 1-4, were released in both trade paperbacks and hardcovers editions. He also admits he slipped up with the main Angel IDW series of 44 issues, since he didn't write down the individual names, he just wrote that issue 18-44 were named Aftermath. I'd like to point out that otherwise the IDW sub-sections seems complete, (unless the IDW artist Elena Casagrande's sketch book came out before 2011 and should be in there with the other sketch books as well) and those were the biggest errors I found in the book.

To sum up, this is a book that lists the official materials and summarizes the unofficial ones, from 1992-2010(some comics released in 2011 were also mentioned). You might need to take out a pen and doodle in the side margin on some pages, but mostly, you'll be like me, itching to take out your wallet and spend it on magazines, fanzines, board games and books you didn't know existed.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here